Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

AERA Outstanding Dissertations: Division A

Division A

Division A supports an examination of sources and types of PK-12 educational leadership, including school and district leaders and other formal and informal leaders inside and outside schools, and the effects of leadership on educational institutions and their staff and their effects on student learning and other outcomes. Division A is committed to supporting scholarly publications, training, fellowships, and meetings to advance research in the field of educational organization, leadership, and school reform; to disseminating knowledge; and to improving the capacity of the profession to enhance the public good.

Division A Outstanding Dissertations

2017

                                                 A Theoretical and Empirical Investigation into the Meaning and Measure of Political
Efficacy and its Application to Education


by: Lauren Bailes
Insitution: Ohio State University
Abstract

2016

                                                 Investigating School Leadership at a Time of System Diversity, Competition and Flux


by: Steven Courtney
Insitution: University of Manchester
Abstract

2015

                                                 The Rising Tide: Choice and Competition in Post-Katrina New Orleans Schools


by: Huriya Jabbar
Insitution: University of California, Berkeley
Abstract

2014

                                                 Creating and Applying a Cognitive Change Model: A Transdisciplinary (Education,
Social Psychology, Neuroscience) Approach Efficacy and its Application to Education


by: Lauren Bailes
Insitution: Ohio State University
Abstract

2013

                                                 First-Year Principals’ Engagement with Instructional Leadership: The Presence,
Pathway, and Power of Institutional Logics

by: Jessica Rigby
Insitution: University of California, Berkeley
Full-Text

2012

                                                 The Influence of Deaf Culture on School Culture and Leadership: A Case Study of a
State School for the Deaf


by: Catherine O'Brien
Insitution: University of Missouri
Abstract

2011

                                                 Pathologies and complicities: High School and the Identities of Disaffected South
Asian “Brown Boys"


by: Anish Sayana
Institution: University of British Columbia (Vancouver)
Full-Text

2010

                                                 Examining the Association Between School Context, Educational Capacity, and
Student Achievement: A Regression Discontinuity Approach


by: Karen Ito Moriyama
Insitution: University of Hawai'i at Manoa
Full-Text

2009

                                                 Beyond the Numbers Chase: How Urban High School Teachers Make Sense of Data Use


by: Vicki Park
Insitution: University of Southern California
Full-Text

2008

                                                 Vestiges of desegregation: Black superintendent reflections on the complex legacy
of Brown v. Board of Education


by: Sonya Douglass Horsford
Insitution: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Full-Text

2007

                                                 Tempered Radicals and Servant Leaders: Portraits of Spirited Leadership Amongst
African Women Leaders


by: Faith Wambura Ngunjiri
Insitution: Bowling Green State University
Full-Text

2006

                                                 Epistemologies of Inclusivity: The possibilities and Limits of Including Traditionally
Marginalized Students in Select Catholic Elementary Schools


by: Martin Scanlan
Insitution: The University of Wisconsin - Madison
Full-Text

2005

                                                 At No Small Cost: Social Justice Leaders and their Response to Resistance


by: George Theoharis
Insitution: The University of Wisconsin - Madison
Full-Text

2004

                                                 Investigating the Role of the Collective Efficacy of Teachers in Fiscal Efficiency and
Student Achievement


by: Timothy G. Cybulski
Insitution: Ohio State University
Full-Text

2003

                                                 Communities of Practice: Participation Patterns and Professional Impact for High
School Mathematical and Science Teachers


by: Susan M. Printy
Insitution: Ohio State University
Full-Text