Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Electronic Journals and Databases
Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.
To request books from other FAU campus libraries, or other libraries, use Interlibrary Loan. Loan time takes 7-10 days, so don't wait until the last minute!
Applied Science and Technology Source
Indexes the latest findings in every area of science, engineering, and technology covering trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals. Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. Full Text coverage begins in 1997.
Civil Engineering Abstracts
Provides access to civil engineering journals.
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.
IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Digital Library
Contents/Info: IEEE/Institution of Engineering and Technology Journals, Conference Proceedings, and Standards from 1988 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
Provides access to to over 5 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Last updated on Feb 23, 2021 11:17 AM