Skip to Main Content
This summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne is the product of an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector. BioOne brings to the Web a uniquely valuable aggregation of the full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journal Storage (More than 500 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science [including the General Science Collection and Ecology and Botany Collection], and social science disciplines)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Combines Medline, the premier database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences with PreMedline, the database that provides basic citation information and abstracts before the full records are prepared and added to MEDLINE.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Web of Science databases and MEDLINE.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
More than 300 online publications for researchers and professionals.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Provides access to to over 5 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Electronic Journals and Databases
Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.
To request books from other FAU campus libraries, or other libraries, use Interlibrary Loan. Loan time takes 7-10 days, so don't wait until the last minute!
Last updated on Jan 4, 2023 8:26 AM