Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Archivo General de Indias
Provides electronic access to the texts and artifacts of the Archivo General de Indias, founded in 1785 and based in Seville, and dedicated to recording the history of Spain's discovery of the Americas. In Spanish.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica
A digitized collection of 2000 historical newspapers published in Spain between 1777-2005.
Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliografico
Digital facsimiles of rare manuscript collections and early printed books which are part of Spain's history.
36 000 years ago - The Chauvet-Pont d'Arc
Digital Archive Wilson Centre
The Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world.
Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center’s History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains newly declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide fresh, unprecedented insights into recent international history. By making new sources available and easily accessible, the Digital Archive serves to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.
Digital History Reader: European History
Explores links between European and world history in the late nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Click on the "Evidence" link within each module to view primary source documents.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker (DBDK)
The Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker is highly regarded both in Germany and throughout the world as the premier collection of literary and non-literary German writing, covering the works from Eleventh century to Nineteenth Century.
Based at the Niedersaechsische Staats- und Universitatsbibliothek Goettingen, this project's goal is to provide online full-text access to core German-language journal titles by discipline, back to the first volume.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
One of the best places to start for all time periods of European history. Extensive collection of primary sources and links to other sites. Browse by broad era (prehistory/ancient, medieval/renaissance, modern) or by country.
European Navigator (ENA)
ENA is a multilingual, multisource and multimedia digital library that contains more than 16,000 documents (including photos, audio and video clips, press articles and cartoons, tables, interactive maps and diagrams) on the historical and institutional development of a united Europe from 1945 to the present day.
Good resource for global history. Similar to how DocsTeach organizes primary sources into periods of American history, this site categorizes documents as well. From the "Reformation" to "Post-World War II Religious Thought," teachers can find full texts available from Fordham or similar institutions. These sources are appropriate for the middle school and high school classroom.
French Revolution Digital Archive
A digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
Digitized collections from the French National Library includes full-text, images, and sound resources and content of interest across the disciplines.
German History in Documents and Images
GHDI is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present.
German Propaganda Archive
"Propaganda was central to Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic. The German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists."
Hanover Historical Texts Project
Texts from all time periods. Primary focus is European, but there are small numbers of documents from the U.S., Africa and East Asia.
Part of the national digital library of Spain. Features digitized newspapers and journals (1772-1933).
historicum.net: Geschichts- und Kunstwissenschaften im Internet
Web megasite, in German, covering all aspects of European history and links to other resources, including online full-text and images.
Internetarchiv Judischer Periodika
Browse or search more than 100 German-Jewish magazines and journals from the 18th to mid-20th centuries. Results, in German, are displayed as full page images.
LeMO: Lebendiges virtuelles Museum Online
Interactive timeline and information on all aspects of German history across the disciplines from 1871 to the present. Presented only in German language.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution*
Large numbers of texts, images, maps and songs that document the French Revolution.
Siege and Commune of Paris, 1870-1871
Links to over 1200 digitized photographs and images recorded during the Siege and Commune of Paris cir.1871.
Spanish Civil War Children's Drawings
Collection of drawings made during the Spanish Civil War by Spanish school children, both in Spain and in refugee centers in France, rendered in pencil, crayon, ink, and watercolor. (circa 1938)
Spanish Civil War Collection
Selections documenting Spain's Second Republic (1931-1936), the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939), and the post-War years of the 1940s.
Spanish Civil War Communist Ephemera
Ephemera printed by the Communist Party of Spain, Partido Comunista de España (PCE), or groups affiliated with the PCE in Madrid during the years of the Spanish Civil War. (circa 1936-1939)
Spanish Civil War News Photos
Photographs, taken for various news agencies, documenting events during the Spanish Civil War. (1936-1940)
Spanish Civil War Postage Stamps
Collection of different adhesive stamps issued by a variety of governmental and non-governmental organizations throughout Republican Spain. (1936-1939)
Spanish Civil War Posters
Propaganda posters produced during the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) by a variety of Spanish political parties and labor organizations.
World Digital Library: Europe
Collection of print and visual resources. Use limiters in left column to focus search on specific geography, date range, topic or type of resource.