Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Digital Map Resources
Wikimedia Commons - Maps
Homepage for Maps category. Search by continent, country, theme, language, etc. Maps have clear copyright statements indicating free use (possibly with some terms), often from Creative Commons.
Wikimedia Country Maps
Wide selection of freely reusable international maps.
Open Geography eTextbook Resources
Items contain Creative Commons designations and are reusable.
Library of Congress Maps
Digital map collections both historical and contemporary. Includes mostly U.S. maps but also has some international maps (see "General Maps" Collection). Site provides information on who created/published each map, usually a government agency and freely available to reproduce and use.
Geography textbooks and resources for Lower and Upper Division Colleges.
Flickr Collection @ Creative Commons
Search for images of geographic entities (countries,cities, bodies of water, etc.) by name in this collection.
Public Domain - U.S. Government Map Resources
USGS National Map
Downloadable maps (various themes) from the USGS National Map.
List of public domain maps
Most are from a variety of United States Government map resources such as the Census Bureau, National Parks, Forest Service, and U.S. Geological Suvey (USGS).
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (U. Texas)
Most of the maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries and served from this web site are in the public domain. No permissions are needed to copy them but credit to "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images should be given.
A few maps are copyrighted, and are clearly marked as such. Also, a few maps include the official seal of a U.S. Government agency. Federal law generally prohibits use of these seals. Maps on other web sites which are linked to are subject to the copyright restrictions of those sites. If uncertain whether a particular map is on this site or another site look at the url for "legacy.lib.utexas.edu".
University of Florida Digital Collections
Includes Map and Imagery Collection. UF gives free and open access to its digital collections.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Contains over 92,000 digital maps and related images in association with Stanford University. Digitization by Cartography Associates. Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-Share Alike.
Images of Geographic Areas