Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Judaica & Holocaust: FAU Libraries Judaica Collections

FAU Libraries Judaica Collections

Digital Collections @ FAU Libraries

             Yiddish Children's Book Collection

             Call 561-297-6088                                      

       

Jaffe Center for Book Arts

Call 561-297-0226  - Email:  lysca@fau.edu

Located on the 3rd floor, east side of FAU’s Wimberly Library in Boca Raton

The Jaffe Center for Book Arts revolves around a central gallery, which houses the Jaffe Collection. Exhibitions, gallery talks, films and performances, and our popular Book Arts 101 presentations all take place inside the gallery in the midst of this inspiring collection of artists' books.

 

Judaica Sound Archives

call 561-297-0080 email:  jsa@fau.edu

Located on the 5th floor of FAU’s Wimberly Library in Boca Raton.

Volunteers appreciated.

The primary mission of the Judaica Sound Archives at FAU Libraries is to collect, preserve, and digitize Judaica sound recordings; to provide educational programming to highlight the contents of this rich cultural legacy; and to promote the use of this unique scholarly resource for students, scholars and the general public.

 

Klezmer Company Orchestra and Shelf to Stage

Call 561-297-3742 email:  akula@fau.edu

The libraries'  ensemble-in-residence, the Klezmer Company Orchestra, otherwise known as KCO, has creatively fused world music under the expertise of its founder Aaron Kula.  Dr. Miller's innovative use of an ensemble-in-residence has allowed Aaron Kula, a well-versed musicologist educated at the New England Conservatory of Music, to bring music from Special Collections to life by performing it at three concerts a year.  This innovative approach of performing music held by Special Collections is called from Shelf to Stage.

 

LEAH see Visual History Archive  (database)

Vendor: USC Shoah Foundation Institute for Visual History and Education
Access available in the S.E. Wimberly Library and the John D. MacArthur Campus Library

As of Fall 2012, FAU has access to the collection of 1,100 testimonies which are viewable online.

These testimonies are accessible from the USC Shoah Foundation Institute site or directly from the Visual History Archive Online page.

 

Yizkor Books

(in memory of Jewish villages of the Holocaust) (also known as: Yizchor and Yizcor books)

Special Collections Department

Located on the 2nd floor, east side of FAU’s Wimberly Library in Boca Raton

Call 561-297-3787 - Email:  lysca@fau.edu

Go to our Online catalog "Library Catalog" and perform your search.

Search catalog for “Yizkor” and “Jewish memory books” to get list of these books 

 

Microfilm and Microfiche collections

History and Annals of Hebrew Printing in the 15th and 16th Centuries: 1501-1600

Jewish Displaced Persons Periodicals

Jewish Theological Seminary Library

Klau Library


Jewish Heritage Video Series

Located on the 1st floor, west side, Media Center at FAU’s Wimberly Library in Boca Raton

           A more complete description of these films and the background of the Jewish Heritage Video Collection can be found

           at: http://www.jhvc.org/site_map/index.

 

Sy Brody Exhibit

Jewish Heros and Heroines in America

Jaffe Center for Book Arts

Klezmer Music