Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beginning this summer, we are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know
Off Campus Connect (EZProxy)
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.
Need help? Click here.
How do I find peer reviewed journals?
Some of the databases, like CINAHL, have a peer reviewed limit that is preselected for you. All you have to do is check the peer reviewed box.
But if you need to verify if the journal is peer reviewed or refeered, check the Ulrichs Directory website at
Selected Library Databases for Articles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Subjects include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and allied health disciplines. In addition, this resource provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Coverage also includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials.
Funded by statewide allocation.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: The Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Review of Effects, Health Technology Assessment, and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
All aspects of the Nursing profession from direct patient care to health care administration are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, the content will be of use to both professionals in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Covers international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently of in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Sort search results by "Times Cited" to determine most influential articles.
Selected Nursing Journals
The following list provides suggested journal titles in this subject area. For a complete list of journals or to find additional titles, please consult the Electronic Journals page.
Last updated on Jun 6, 2022 11:22 AM