Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
How to Trace your Native American Heritage
Documentaries and Feature Films
A selection of DVD and video documentaries and feature films with Native American themes is available at the Wimberly Library media center. Click on the titles for more information.
Search our catalog for "Native American novelists" and restrict your results by choosing on "Boca Raton, Media Center" for Location for a listing of videos located at the Boca Raton campus on select authors.
View all Streaming Video resources at our Libraries and browse their films.
Academic Video Online: Premium
Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling, sciences and engineering, and social sciences. See separate collection titles and the mulitmedia platform -Alexander Street Press- within our A-Z Database List.
American History in Video
This searchable electronic video collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
American roots music. Episodes 3 & 4
episode 3. The times they are a-changin' (Chicago blues ; B.B. King ; Golden age of gospel ; The Weavers ; The folk revival ; Newport Folk Festival) -- episode 4. All my children of the Sun (Cajun ; Zydeco ; Tejano ; Native American ; Nakai & Mirabal ; Evolution of roots). For more information, see PBS description. a>
A group of scholars, Native Americans and historians examine the history of the Plains Indians in the 19th century and the policy of Indian removal and warfare between the United States and various tribes, with reference to Black Elk's writings from "Black Elk speaks", which describes Indian religion and culture as well as the struggles of tribes from 1863 to the massacre at Wounded Knee in 1890. Originally broadcast by C-SPAN on the program "American writers: a journey through history."
Black Indians : an American story
This presentation brings to light a forgotten part of America's past -- the cultural and racial fusion of Native and African Americans. The film explores what brought Native Americans and African Americans together, what drove them apart, and the challenges they face today. Documented with family memories and historical highlights.
Bones of contention
This program provides an even-handed examination of the conflict between Native American groups and scientists, historians, and museum curators concerning the issue of the remains of more than 10,000 Native Americans unearthed at archaeological sites across the U.S. In doing so, it also provides an excellent survey of American Indian archaeology in the U.S.
Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior - more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Homeland : four portraits of Native action
Filmed against some of America's most spectacular backdrops. Film profiles Native American activists who are fighting to protect Indian lands, preserve their sovereignty and ensure the cultural survival of their peoples.
How to trace your native American heritage
Discusses how and where to research one's Indian lineage, how to obtain Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood, and tribal membership. NOTE: The video clip shown on this page is only a portion of this entire video film.
In whose honor?
The Atlanta Braves. Kansas City Chiefs. Washington Redskins. Cleveland Indians. This film takes a critical look at the long-standing practice of "honoring" American Indians by using their names for mascots and sports teams and delves into the accompanying issues of racism, stereotypes, minority representation, and the powerful effects of media imagery. It centers around a discussion of Chief Illiniwek as the University of Illinois mascot, and the effect the mascot has on Native American peoples.
About seven Native American girls of the Tuba City High School cross-country running team and their attempt to win a fourth state championship.
Native American spirituality
Part of a 13-part series that looks at the similarities and differences among the world's religions and religion's role in creating culutral diversity. This segment discusses the spiritual heritage of Native Americans, and shows how beliefs changed as their societies evolved. Examines how hunting and gathering societies practiced animism and then shifted to harvest rituals as the society became more agrarian. Explores specific customs and rituals of the Eskimo, Iroquois, Maya, Aztec and others.
Explores the many similarities among tribal nations, including a profound respect for nature, myth, and tradition; matriarchal governance; a communal lifestyle; a belief in an afterlife; and the use of pictographs, symbols, and patterns rather than an alphabet-based language. Also featured are brief scenes of re-created warfare.
Ocmulgee : mysteries of the mounds
Explores the history of Ocmulgee, located near Macon, Georgia. Includes an overview and history of the Monument, which marks the former settlement of a group of Native Americans known as the Mississippians, a farming people who lived there between 900 and 1100 A.D.
The way west. Episode 4, Ghost dance
Episode four chronicles the oppression of the Native American tribes that occurred in the wake of the Battle of the Little Big Horn; the surrender and last days of Crazy Horse and Sitting Bull; the rise of the heartbreaking Ghost Dance religion; and the last terrible massacre at Wounded Knee.
Who owns the past?
Explores the historical events leading to the passage of the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act (NAGPRA) and the current controversy over Kennewick Man. The late 20th century movement by Indians to reclaim their ancestors' remains succeeded to a considerable degree, but conflicts with goals of scientists continue.
Without reservations : notes on racism in Montana
Native Americans in Montana reflect on the prevalence of racism in their state. Various questions are considered. What is racism? Is covert and ignorant stereotyping less racist than overt racism? How is an entire culture degraded through the casual use of racist imagery? How are children affected by racism in schools and the media?