Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
All of the databases in this discipline can be found in our Engineering and Technology databases section.
ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal, magazine and newsletter articles. In addition, this resource provides access to transactions, conference proceedings and the ACM Guide to Computing Literature.
Civil Engineering Abstracts
Content/Info: Civil Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. This database provides comprehensive international coverage as well as numerous non-serial publications. Many of the more recent records in the databas
Compendex (Engineering Village)
Contents/Info: Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.
Content/Info: 1,100+ scholarly journals in engineering, science, and social science disciplines.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (Proquest)
Content/Info: The ProQuest Engineering Collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the CSA Engineering Research Database,a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations.
Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,600 records.
IEEE Xplore:IEEE/IEL Digital Library
Contents/Info: IEEE/IEE Journals, Conference Proceedings, and Standards from 1988 to the present.
Contents/Info: Includes Physics Abstracts, Computer and Control Abstracts, and Electrical and Electronics Abstracts. The largest English language file of bibliographic information and abstracts on the world's output of published works in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing, and information technology. Covers scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings. Includes some books, reports, and dissertations.
Materials Business File
Contents/Info: Materials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Contents/Info: The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
Web of Science
Contents/Info: Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines
Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.
Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.