ELECTRONIC DATABASES
IntelliConnect (CCH)
Purpose: Provides access to information on federal, state, and international tax topics and estate planning in primary and secondary sources with expert analysis.
Access and Navigation:
- Off campus access is available via EZproxy.
- Search all content at top of screen by keywords, such as “independent contractor" and definition, and narrow your search by “Type of Document” (on left hand side).
- Browse content list (on left) to search “Standard Federal Income Tax Report” for expert analysis by selecting “Federal Taxes” and “Federal Tax Editorial Content” and then typing in keywords in the search box.
- Search for the full text of a court case or tax law by selecting Citations (e.g. 787 F Supp 741).
- Search for the history of a tax case by using Citator (e.g. 364 F Supp 605).
- Browse topics alphabetically in the “Standard Federal Income Tax Reporter” by selecting “Federal Tax” and “Federal Tax Editorial Content,” and then clicking on “Topical Indexes.”
Special Features:
- Use Tracker News to set up personalized email notifications on topics of interest.
- Set up your personal Research Folders
- Use Practice Tools to calculate withholding tax and other statistics.
RIA Checkpoint
Purpose: Provides access to information on federal, state, and international tax topics and estate planning in primary and secondary sources with expert analysis with a special section on tax treatises.
Access and Navigation:
- Off campus access is available via EZproxy.
- In the Federal practice area, select “Federal Tax Coordinator” and “United States Tax Reporter” for expert analysis and primary sources on tax topics and type in your keywords (e.g. (“independent contractor” and definition).
- Under the Go to heading click on Indexes to search “Federal Tax Coordinator 2d Topic Index” arranged alphabetically by topic (e.g. independent contractor).
- Search for the full text of a court case or tax law by selecting "Find by Citation" (e.g. 787 F Supp 741).
Special Features:
- Search in “WG&L Treatises” (under “Federal Editorial Materials”) by keywords for tax treatises on various topics or use Go to and Indexes to find the contents.
- Use Tools for mortgage, loan and other calculations.
LexisNexis Academic
Purpose: U.S. Legal section of database provides access to statutory and case law and expert analysis of federal tax topics in tax publications and law reviews.
Access and Navigation:
- Off campus access is available via EZproxy.
- Search U.S. Legal section to find statutory or case law or select Tax Law to find expert analysis in tax publications and law reviews using keywords and Boolean searching (e.g. AND, OR).
Campus Research on WestlawNext (formerly Westlaw Campus)
Purpose: Provides access to statutory law, case law, and administrative law, in addition to information in legal encyclopedias.
Access and Navigation:
- Off campus access is available via EZproxy.
- Search in Advanced Search in American Jurisprudence 2d by typing in keywords to find definitions of words and terms (e.g. independent contractor).
TAX FORMS
Internal Revenue Service - http://www.irs.gov/
This is the official Website of the IRS and provides the latest information on changes in tax laws, new and proposed regulations, and forms and publications.
