Encyclopaedia BritannicaDue to budget constrains, Encyclopaedia Britannica has been downgraded to the free version A general knowledge English-language encyclopaedia.
Global Road WarriorThe Global Road Warrior database provides access to country information in various categories such as business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs.
CQ Researcher Plus ArchiveThe CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science, and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports.
Global NewsstreamSearch international, national and regional newspapers including current access to the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Sun-Sentinel and the Palm Beach Post.
World History (Gale OneFile)This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals will be useful both for the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education.
World Development Indicators (WDI)Open Access
WDI is the World Bank's premier annual compilation of data about development. WDI includes more than 900 indicators in over 80 tables organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.
World Map CollectionsOpen Access
World Map Collections are a cooperative project of several public and private universities of Florida and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection to make digitized modern and antique maps available on the Web. The Florida and Caribbean collections are particularly strong, but Africa, the Americas, and the Middle East are also represented. These are growing collections; new maps are added.
eHRAF World CulturesA cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
KanopyA growing collection of videos in a variety of subject areas such as nursing, business, science, and film studies, and from a number of producers including California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation (MEF), Symptom Media, and more.
Current Affairs in VideoCurrent Affairs in Video features award-winning films and documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical issues of the day.
Ethnographic Video OnlineEthnographic Video Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and feature the work of many of the influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Anthropology (Alexander Street Press)The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials. The resources work in tandem to bring the fieldwork process to life by juxtaposing original fieldwork with subsequent published ethnographies, as well as follow up studies and visual ethnographies that span a century.
LGBT Studies in VideoLGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Databases - Other
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
World Bank Open DataOpen Access
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. These databases are used by teams to prepare Country Assistance Strategies, poverty assessments, research studies, and other forms of economic and sector work. Included are World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, and Global Economic Monitor.
Sustainability Science AbstractsThis database includes all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
International Historical StatisticsInternational Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data from around the world. It covers a wide range of socio-economic topics and provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years.
Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and IdentitiesStudent Tech Fee Funded Womens Studies Archive: Womens Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. Global in scope and offering coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society. Within the archive can be found fascinating historical records from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim with content in English, French, German, and Dutch.