Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Rhetoric: Articles, Journals & Databases

Databases

Library databases are electronic catalogs or indices, contain information about published items, and are searchable.

Some items indexed in library databases include journals, magazines, books, newspapers, book reviews, publications, and dissertations.

Many library databases provide at least some full text articles, but some may only provide abstracts (summaries) or citations. A citation typically consists of author, title, source (title of publication), publisher, and date of publication.

Library databases differ in what they cover. Some library databases index items from many subject areas and others index items from a specific academic discipline.  View all the FAU databases by subject here : Databases by Subject


Below is a selected list of databases that you will find useful in searching for information on Rhetoric:

Recommended Journals

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals.  Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time or Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Need help? Click here.

Popular Publications vs. Scholoarly Papers

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Off Campus Connect

For access to FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself for remote access through Off Campus Connect (EZproxy).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search