Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
What is a database?
Databases are collections of articles and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic. Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.
Electronic Journals and Databases
Electronic journals are found in databases. An electronic journal has all of the information you would find in a print bound journal.
All of the databases in this discipline can be found in our Engineering and Technology databases section.
American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Journals
Contents/Info: Provides access to mechanical engineering journals.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Contents/Info: This index provides a single resource for seven decades of articles on the most important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957), plus the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field for the 20th Century.
Contents/Info: Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 8 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.
Elsevier Science Direct
Contents/Info: 1,100+ scholarly journals in engineering, science, and social science disciplines.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection (Proquest)
Contents/Info: The ProQuest Engineering Collection contains engineering related full-text articles, granular access to millions of figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from the CSA Engineering Research Database,a comprehensive index to world literature on technological and engineering innovations.
Includes access to the abstract records and full text articles published since 1988 with select content published since 1893 from: IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, including early access documents; IEEE conference proceedings; IET journals; IET conference proceedings; IEEE published standards and redline versions; and IEEE Standards Dictionary Online.
InTech - Open Science Open Mind
Open Access portal of engineering journals and ebooks
Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts
Contents/Info: Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering. This database provides in depth, comprehensive coverage of the international engineering literature with the monitoring of over 2,600 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.
Web of Science
Contents/Info: Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies."