Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Why would I use a database?
The World Wide Web can be useful for providing some types of information but often research using databases will provide better sources of information. Some sources in databases include trade journals, industry news sources, general business magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Off Campus Connect
Your Owl Card enables you to check out books and to access materials online through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Service Desk.
Helpful information about this important topic:
Databases to use when researching topics in Health Administration:
ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry)
Includes details on virtually every aspect of business, including company histories, competitive intelligence, and new product development. ABI/INFORM contains bibliographic citations and 25-150 word summaries of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. The full text of articles is included for about 550 of the 1,000 journals.
Business Insights: Essentials
Includes company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and full-text articles.
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, and more.
Academic One File
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, health care, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Covers all things related to the U.S. Congress: including status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity. Choose a topic and all related issues and activities will be listed.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Contains topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. This database also includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals and newspapers.
Provides the tools for searching the Congressional record, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, searching the Federal Register, Congressional committee schedules, finding members of Congress, and searching the National Journal.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
CQ Researcher explores a wide variety of topics, many dealing with public policy issues. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Health Reference Center - Academic
Provides articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, and Prescription Drugs.
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.