If you need assistance setting up search terms and key words so that you can search the databases for scholarly articles, I welcome you to contact me, Sheri Edwards, at firstname.lastname@example.org, Monday-Friday. Honestly! I am here to help, so don't hesitate.
Essay & General Literature IndexCites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. This resource focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with subjects ranging from economics, political science, and history to criticism of literary works, drama, and film.
Gale Literary SourcesGale Literary Sources combines Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously.
Literature Online (LION)Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
MLA International BibliographyProvides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations . The indexed materials coverage is international. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Academic Search CompleteThe world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
JSTORMore than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines, as well as over 500 Spanish-language e-books. Most full-text access is archival, some current full text.
Find a book in the library catalog (applies to electronic books, too)
A Critical Companion to BeowulfBeowulf : a brief summary of the plot -- Foreword : looking back -- Manuscript and text -- Style and structure -- Myth and legend -- Religion and learning -- Heroes and villains -- Words and deeds -- Beowulf : beyond criticism? -- Afterword : looking forward -- The foliation of Beowulf -- Repeated formulas in Beowulf -- A concordance of repeated formulas in Beowulf.
Othello and Interpretive TraditionsDuring the past twenty years or so, "Othello" has become the Shakespearean tragedy that speaks most powerfully to our contemporary concerns. Focusing on race and gender (and on class, ethnicity, sexuality, and nationality), the play talks about what audiences want to talk about. Yet at the same time, as refracted through Iago, it forces us to hear what we do not want to hear; like the characters in the play, we become trapped in our own prejudicial malice and guilt. a"
Twentieth-Century SentimentalismClick the link to get into the book; upper right, see "Search Within This Book"; type "Kindred" into the search box; Enter; see and click "6. Octavia Butler's Kindred"
Routledge Handbook of African LiteratureClick the link to get into the book; upper right, see either "Download" or Read Online"; see search magnifier in upper left; type "Afropolitan"; see and click page occurrences in the left-side panel
Citing sources using the MLA citation style
Research in literary studies
The Routledge Handbook of Literary TranslationThe Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation provides an accessible, diverse and extensive overview of literary translation today. This next-generation volume brings together principles, case studies, precepts, histories and process knowledge from practitioners in sixteen different countries. Divided into four parts, the book covers many of literary translation¿s most pressing concerns today, from teaching, to theorising, to translation techniques, to new tools and resources. Featuring genre studies, in which graphic novels, crime fiction, and ethnopoetry have pride of place alongside classics and sacred texts, The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation represents a vital resource for students and researchers of both translation studies and comparative literature.
PsychonarratologyPsychonarratology is an approach to the empirical study of literary response and the processing of narrative. It draws on the empirical methodology of cognitive psychology and discourse processing as well as the theoretical insights and conceptual analysis of literary studies, particularly narratology. The present work provides a conceptual and empirical basis for this interdisciplinary approach that is accessible to researchers from either disciplinary background. An integrative review is presented of the classic problems in narratology: the status of the narrator, events and plot, characters and characterization, speech and thought, and focalization. For each area, Bortolussi and Dixon critique the state of the art in narratology and literary studies, discuss relevant work in cognitive psychology, and provide a new analytical framework based on the insight that readers treat the narrator as a conversational participant. Empirical evidence is presented on each problem, much of it previously unpublished.
For your enjoyment when you take a break from your work