Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
- Search the catalog using key words (Shakespeare, Poe, literary criticism)
- Use an asterisk with your search terms to find word variations
(critici* locates criticism, critique)
- Click subject links in the catalog record to find more related books
Selected Scholarly Journals
- African American Review
- Acta Poetica
- American Literary History
- American Poet
- Dickens Quarterly
- The Edgar Allen Poe Review
- Journal of Arabic Literature
- The Kenyon Review
- Studies in American Indian Literatures
- Find more journals by searching the Libraries' collection of electronic journals.
George Bernard Shaw
Core Databases (Articles)
Caribbean Literature A comprehensive collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Gale Literary Sources Gale Literary Sources combines Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Authors, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously.
Gale Primary Sources Combines Eighteenth-Century Collections Online, and Nineteenth-Century Collections Online; allows users to search both databases simultaneously. Collections include digitized monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps.
Latino Literature Brings together more than 100,000 pages of poetry and fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Some items included have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.
LitFinder (Gale Literature) Contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Literature Online (LION) Provides access to more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose,180 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) Delivers biographical and bibliographical information on authors and their works. Covers authors of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, and history.
MLA International Bibliography Provides a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. International coverage. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory, and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
Project Muse A collection of scholarly journals and books in humanities, mathematics, and social science disciplines. Great for literary criticism.
Ringling Collection Open Access
The Ringling Collection is comprised of cabinet cards, postcards and photographs of 19th Century American and British actors and actresses. There are more than 6,000 images in this digital collection depicting more than 3,000 actors and actresses. The Collection is important not simply for its pictures of the idols of a bygone era, but for its depictions of clothing, hair styles and other indicators of the period's social mores and attitudes. The original collection is housed in the Belknap Collection for the Performing Arts in the Smathers Libraries' Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family Brings together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. When complete, the collection will contain 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
Twentieth Century North American Drama Contains 1,530 plays by 223 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
Wright American Fiction A collection of 19th-century American fiction with access to nearly 3,000 full-text books. Authors include Stowe, Twain, Hawthorne, and Melville.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online) The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium, the Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
General Databases (Articles)
Academic Search Complete
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including arts and literature.
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines.
Includes Humanities Full Text and Humanities Index Retrospective.
Film & Television Literature Index Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews, and book reviews.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Art Index Retrospective Includes citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials An index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion.
MLA Directory of Periodicals Provides all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Also provides statistics on the number of articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as the number submitted.