Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Locating Full-Text Articles
Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.
Why would I use a database?
Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Journal Articles and Newspapers can be useful because you may find information on a topic that is so specific that no book has been written about it (and they may be more timely, since it takes some time to publish a book.)
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
This collection offers more than 700 journals in the legal and criminal justice field.
Criminal Justice Database (Proquest)
Provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals, plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
This resource offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
Resources - Center for Security Studies
International Relations and Security Network is the world's leading open access information service for international relations and security professionals.
Journal Storage (More than 500 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science [including the General Science Collection and Ecology and Botany Collection], and social science disciplines)
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal periodicals.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
The NCJRS web site is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
This resource contains summaries of over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information.
PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage. Document types cov
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. These disciplines include medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, health administration, law, and public health.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, and education.
Off Campus Connect
If you are using FAU's online resources from off campus, please authenticate yourself for off campus access through Off Campus Connect.
How to Read a Journal Article