Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Selected Video Databases
- Open Video Project https://open-video.org/news.php
- Highlights open-access collections that are newly available.
- You can also search by topic.
- Many of the videos are dated (10-30 years old), but might be good for historical information
- FAU Libraries’ Streaming Videos http://www.fau.edu/library/ecollect_search/?category=14&search_category=Search
- See databases listed below for best probable databases for computer engineering. Search by topic (broad or narrow). Some databases allow you to search by topic, and then narrow down within the results.
- These databases require that persons be logged into Off Campus Connect if they are viewing from off campus.
Academic Video Online: Premium | Streaming Video
- Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling,sciences and engineering,and social sciences.
- This is a very broad video collection. It includes contemporary information, as well as historical information (history of computer, specific looks at ancient machines that precluded computers, etc. Do searches for specific terms, such as “computers” “computer apps” “Internet” “robotics,” etc.
- Any of the videos in this broad collection by Alexander Street Press also allow you to create clips or search for clips that others have made and then made public. This would allow you to narrow down what you would like students to watch into compact segments, instead of having them review the entire video.
Docuseek2 | Streaming Video
- Do an Advanced Search for “computer, apps, internet access, privacy, virtual world video games, etc.
Kanopy | Streaming Video
Films on Demand | Streaming Video
- A web-based digital delivery service that allows you to view streaming educational videos purchased by FAU Libraries from Films Media Group. Users can organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, and personalize folders.
- Do searches for specific items. A search for “computers” shows several complete (or sections of) videos on Mobile apps, as well as How Computers ‘See’, and several others.