Overview for this sub-section:
We know that fake news is not likely to check verified news sources. They use facts from verified news and layer it with misinformation. When confronted by both the fake news and verified news, people tend to discount the misinformation and the facts. That's the power of fake news.
Additionally, most adults use social media to get their news. Columbia Journalism Review reports that 30% of fake news can be linked back to Facebook while only 8% of verified news is linked from Facebook. There are fewer fake news sources than verified news sources but with social media, their reach is that much more pronounced.
The Role of Bots and Trolls
Per a 2017 study in the University of Michigan Journal of Law Reform, the purveyors of bots and trolls typically do not seek a specific outcome; rather, they deploy them to sow chaos, confusion, and paranoia in order to disruptinstitutions great and small. They typically can be found in online message boards and social media outlets and can be deployed in a variety of situations.
Source: Atlantic Council's Digital Forensic Research Lab
Astroturf campaign tactics push a specific message into public debate by artificial means, resulting in:
Hamilton 2.0 is a website developed by the Alliance for Securing Democracy, a bipartisan, transatlantic initiative that works to publicly document and expose the ongoing efforts by Vladimir Putin and other authoritarian regimes to subvert democracy in the United States, Europe, and globally. Site users can view snapshots of Twitter bot traffic and view hot topics/hashtags and trending domains and URLs.
Deception 101: Primer on deception by
Published by U.S. Army War College.
The author reviews the basic concepts related to "deception." Dr. Caddell defines terms, provides historical examples, and discusses problems associated with deception. He provides a general overview, a "primer" which is not directed at those who already possess a working knowledge of deception operations. Nevertheless, given the complex and everchanging nature of deception in the political-military environment, it may serve as a useful reminder of the basic assumptions and methods concerning the subject.
Handbook of digital face manipulation and detection: From deepfakes to morphing attacks by
This open access book provides the first comprehensive collection of studies dealing with the hot topic of digital face manipulation, such as DeepFakes, Face Morphing, or Reenactment. It combines the research fields of biometrics and media forensics including contributions from academia and industry. The book provides a good starting point for young researchers as well as a reference guide pointing at further literature.
How algorithms create and prevent fake news by
From deepfakes to GPT-3, deep learning is now powering a new assault on our ability to tell what's real and what's not, bringing a whole new algorithmic side to fake news. On the other hand, remarkable methods are being developed to help automate fact-checking and the detection of fake news and doctored media. This book tells the stories of this algorithmic battle for the truth and how it impacts individuals and society at large.
Information spread in a social media age: Modeling and control by
The rise of social networks and social media has led to a massive shift in the ways information is dispersed. Platforms like Twitter and Facebook allow people to more easily connect as a community, but they can also be avenues for misinformation, fake news, and polarization. The need to examine, model, and analyze the trajectory of information spread within this new paradigm has never been greater. This text expands upon the authors' combined teaching experience, engineering knowledge, and multiple academic journal publications on these topics to present an intuitive and easy to understand exploration of social media information spread alongside the technical and mathematical concepts. By design, this book uses simple language and accessible and modern case studies (including those centered around United States mass shootings, the #MeToo social movement, and more) to ensure it is accessible to the casual reader. At the same time, readers with prior knowledge of the topics will benefit from the mathematical model and control elements and accompanying sample simulation code for each main topic. By reading this book and working through the included exercises, readers will gain a general understanding of modern social media systems, network fundamentals, model development techniques, and social marketing. The mathematical modeling of information spread over social media is heavily emphasized through a review of existing epidemiology and marketing based models. The book then presents novel models developed by the authors to account for modern social media concerns such as community filter bubbles, strongly polarized groups, and contentious information spread. Readers will learn how to build and execute simple case studies using Twitter data to help verify the text's proposed models. Once the reader is armed with a fundamental understanding of mathematical modeling and social media-based system considerations, the book introduces more complex engineering control concepts, including controller design, PID control, and optimal control. Examples of control methods for social campaigns and misinformation mitigation applications are covered in a step-by-step format from problem formulation to solution simulation and results discussions. While many of the examples and methods are framed in the context of controlling social media information spread, the material is also directly applicable to many different types of controllable systems. With the essential background, models, and tools presented within, any interested reader can take the first steps toward exploring and taming the growing complexity of the modern social media age.
Palgrave handbook of deceptive communication by
Deception and truth-telling weave through the fabric of nearly all human interactions and every communication context. The Palgrave Handbook of Deceptive Communication unravels the topic of lying and deception in human communication, offering an interdisciplinary and comprehensive examination of the field, presenting original research, and offering direction for future investigation and application. Highly prominent and emerging deception scholars from around the world investigate the myriad forms of deceptive behavior, cross-cultural perspectives on deceit, moral dimensions of deceptive communication, theoretical approaches to the study of deception, and strategies for detecting and deterring deceit. Truth-telling, lies, and the many grey areas in-between are explored in the contexts of identity formation, interpersonal relationships, groups and organizations, social and mass media, marketing, advertising, law enforcement interrogations, court, politics, and propaganda. This handbook is designed for advanced undergraduate and graduate students, academics, researchers, practitioners, and anyone interested in the pervasive nature of truth, deception, and ethics in the modern world.
Weapons of mass distraction: Foreign state-sponsored disinformation in the digital age
Produced with support from the US Department of State's Global Engagement Center
Misinformation
Disinformation
Florida Atlantic University Libraries
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
(561) 297-6911
