Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAS 2000 Introduction to Latin American Studies / Dr. Ganson: Indexes & Databases

A To Z List of Databases - FAU

Indexes and Databases are collections of academic journals and other sources of scholarly information. They can be searched by using keywords, or words that describe a topic.  Databases often provide peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research.

Open Athens

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!  

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

How to Read a Journal Article

Click here for a short article on how to effectively

  • read, 
  • skim,
  • evaluate and
  • find information in articles!

Evaluating Journals

Indexes/Databases

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.  

Google Scholar Search