Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

HIS 4935: Senior Seminar: Hitler and Stalin / Dr. Kollander: Indexes/Databases and Academic Journals

When to Use Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:  

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following: 

NEW - OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!  

Hitler and Stalin: Twin Tyrants

Evaluating Journals

How to Read a Journal Article

Click here for a short article on how to effectively

  • read, 
  • skim,
  • evaluate and
  • find information in articles!

Inside Nazi Germany

Indexes/Databases

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Declassified, Joseph Stalin

Google Scholar

Need help using Google Scholar? Check here

Some articles listed in Google Scholar are available from FAU in Full Text.

If FAU does not have access to full text of the article, please use Interlibrary Loan to request a copy of the article for your use.  

Google Scholar Search