Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
Copyright protects the rights of creators who make an original work in a fixed medium (U.S. Copyright Office, 2016). It also allows creators (or owners of copyright) to distribute, perform, reproduce, display, sell, or make derivatives of their work.
Basic knowledge of copyright is essential for students, researchers, and anyone else who wants to protect their intellectual work. It is also important in order to ethically (and legally) re-use the work of others.
Copyright protects the fixed expression of ideas, such as:
Copyright does not protect ideas on their own, such as:
- Literary works
- Musical works
- Dramatic works
- Pantomimes and choreographic works
- Pictorial, graphic, and sculptural works
- Motion picture and other audio-visual works
- Sound recordings
- Architectural works
- Method of operation
- Principle or discovery
Need copyright information for teaching and learning purposes? See the following LibGuide:
Disclaimer: The FAU Libraries and its faculty, staff, and administration are not attorneys and cannot interpret the law. This information is provided for educational purposes only and does not substitute for advice from legal counsel.
Source: U.S. Copyright Office (2016). Copyright law of the United States. https://www.copyright.gov/title17/
Copyright and Related Concepts in Plain Language
Public Domain, Creative Commons, and Free Cultural Works
Applying for Copyright & Reusing Copyrighted Work
The FAU Libraries does not secure permissions to reuse copyrighted work*. Consult the following links for guidance.
If you created the work, see if you still hold the copyright or if you transferred it to a publisher. Refer to any contracts you may had signed such as a copyright transfer agreement (CTA) and what it allows for reuse or sharing.
*Exceptions: items added to Course Reserves and requested for Interlibrary Loan.
Find a Copyright Holder or Status
- Determine the date of publication or creation: look at the work’s verso (author, publisher, ISSN, etc.).
- Consult with finding aids to locate a copyright from U.S. Copyright Office (texts) or Copyright Alliance for music and other works; see the links below.
- For old works (published in 1925 or before), consult with the public domain checklists or Hirtle Chart (Cornell University Library, Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the U.S., https://copyright.cornell.edu/publicdomain.
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by Copyright law never sleeps, making it imperative to keep abreast of the latest developments. Declared "an exemplary text that seals the standards for such books" (Managing Information), this newly revised and updated edition by respected copyright authority Crews offers timely insights and succinct guidance for LIS students, librarians, and educators alike. Readers will learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; get up to speed on fresh developments, such as how the recently signed Marrakesh Treaty expands access for people with disabilities and why the latest ruling in the Georgia State University case makes developing a fair use policy so important; understand the concept of fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learn the current state of affairs regarding mass digitization, Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, and other important topics; receive guidance on setting up on a copyright service at a library, college, or university; and find many helpful checklists for navigating copyright in various situations. This straightforward, easy-to-use guide provides the tools librarians and educators need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2020-03-30
Coaching Copyright by From researching to remixing, library users need your guidance on a wide range of copyright topics. The way to move beyond "yes, you can" or "no, you can't" is to become a copyright coach. In this collection librarian and attorney Smith teams up with information literacy expert Ellis to offer a framework for coaching copyright, empowering users to take a practical approach to specific situations. Complete with in-depth case studies, this collection provides valuable information rooted in pragmatic techniques, including in-depth discussion of the five questions that will help you clarify any copyright situation; storytelling techniques to enliven copyright presentations, plus ways to use music or YouTube to hook students into copyright topics; three coaching scenarios that tie into ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and bring real-world applications to your library instruction; how-to guidance on leading mock negotiations over real journal publishing agreements; a 90-minute lesson plan on author rights for writers in a student journal; tips for teaching instructional designers how to apply copyright and fair use principles to course management systems; and an LIS copyright course assessment model. This resource will help you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.
Call Number: KF2995 .C576 2020 (Boca Raton Campus) and eBook
Publication Date: 2019-09-11
Copyright by Copyright law was once an esoteric backwater, the special province of professional authors, publishers, and media companies. This is no longer the case. In the age of social media and cloud storage, we have become a copying and sharing culture. Much of our everyday communication, work, and entertainment now directly involves copyright law. Copyright law and policy are ferociously contested. Record labels, movie studios, book publishers, newspapers, and many authors rage that those who share music, video, text, and images over the Internet are "stealing" their property. By contrast, copyright industry critics celebrate digital technology's potential to make the universe of movies, music, books, and art accessible anytime and anywhere - and to empower individuals the world over to express themselves by sharing and remixing those works. These critics argue that excessive copyright enforcement threatens that promise and stifles creativity. In Copyright: What Everyone Needs to Know�, Neil Netanel explains the concepts needed to understand the heated debates about copyright law and policy. He identifies the combatants, unpacks their arguments, and illuminates what is at stake in the debates over copyright's present and future.
Call Number: KF2995 .N478 2018
Publication Date: 2018-08-10
The Copyright Handbook by What copyright law protects....and doesn't No writers like to see their hard work or creativity copied by others - or to be accused of copying. Fortunately, The Copyright Handbook provides everything you need to protect yourself! Find information and forms to help you: register your work maximize copyright protection transfer ownership of copyright avoid infringement deal with infringers understand the "fair use" rule get permission to use copyrighted work profit from your copyright This edition is updated to provide the latest copyright regulations, forms and rules for filing a copyright application.
Call Number: KF2995 .F53 2017 (Boca Raton Campus)
Publication Date: 2017-10-30
The Public Domain by Find free content and save on permission fees! Millions of creative works--books, artwork, photos, songs, movies, and more--are available copyright-free in the public domain. Whether your tastes run more Jane Austen or Jane Eyre, Beethoven or Irving Berlin, Edvard Munch or Claude Monet, you'll find inspiration in The Public Domain. The only book that helps you find and identify which creative works are protected by copyright and which are not, The Public Domain covers the rules for: writings music art photography architecture maps choreography movies video software databases collections The 8th edition is completely updated with hundreds of new online and digitized public domain resources. The book covers the latest legal developments regarding copyright and the public domain--from state copyright policies to free and low-cost legal advice for creative types to copyright issues regarding photos lacking human authorship, and much more!
Call Number: KF3022 .F575 2017 (Boca Raton Campus)
Publication Date: 2017-05-29
Managing Copyright in Higher Education by As more and more colleges and universities establish copyright offices and/or assign the responsibilities of copyright education and advisory services to specific individuals within the institution, many times librarians, there is a paucity of resources available on how to manage that responsibility. Most works on copyright discuss the law and court cases interpreting the law but few address the situational application of it and the management and coordination of copyright efforts on a campus. Here is a complete, one-stop, guide to managing copyright at all levels--community college, college, and university. Complete chapters are devoted to: The university cultureThe role of a copyright officeHow to establish a copyright officeCopyright services for librariansCopyright services for facultyCopyright services for administrators and staffCopyright services for students Written by the director of the University Copyright Office at Purdue University who holds both law and library science degrees, this is complete, authoritative guide is a must-purchase for every institution of higher education seeking to comply with the copyright law and thus avoid potential liability exposure.
Call Number: eBook (FAU log-in required)
Publication Date: 2015-01-01