Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11
Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...
New eBooks Biological Sciences
The Biological Resources of Model Organisms by This book discusses 14 model organisms and are used by thousands of researchers, teachers, and students each year in laboratories and classrooms, around the globe. Though acknowledged in innumerable scientific journal articles, little is generally known about the origin of these collections, how the organisms contained within them have been acquired, and how they are maintained and distributed. While some collections such as Drosophila have long histories others, such as the collection of Brachionus, are relatively new. They vary greatly in size. Yet, all have contributed and are continuing to contribute to global research efforts in many areas of scientific research as diverse as tissue regeneration, skin cancer, evolution, water purity, gene function, and hundreds of others. In addition to providing the raw materials for national and international research programs, these collections also provide educational tools used by colleges and high schools. The chapters in this book attempt to provide a brief look at the individual organisms, how they came to be accepted as model organisms, the history of the individual collections, examples of how the organisms have been and are being used in scientific research, and a description of the facilities and procedures used to maintain them. Features: * Provides an in-depth look at the collections of 14 model organisms that have enabled innumerable scientific breakthroughs over decades, and that continue to do so. * Includes detailed descriptions of the operating procedures used for the maintenance of each model organism collection. * Discusses the holdings of the collections of model organisms and its relevance to past, current and future scientific research. * Written by the leaders in the field of the management of model organisms.
Publication Date: 2019
Biomembrane Simulations by Due to recent advancements in the development of numerical algorithms and computational hardware, computer simulations of biological membranes, often requiring use of substantial computational resources, are now reaching a mature stage. Since molecular processes in membranes occur on a multitude of spatial and time scales, molecular simulations of membranes can also serve as a testing ground for use of multi-scale simulation techniques. This book addresses some of the important issues related to understanding properties and behavior of model biological membranes and it Shows how simulations improve our understanding of biological membranes and makes connections with experimental results. Presents a careful discussion of the force fields used in the membrane simulations including detailed all-atom fields and coarse-grained fields. Presents a continuum description of membranes. Discusses a variety of issues such as influence of membrane surfaces on properties of water, interaction between membranes across water, nanoparticle permeation across the membrane, action of anesthetics and creation of inhomogeneous regions in membranes. Discusses important methodological issues when using simulations to examine phenomena such as pore creation and permeation across membranes. Discusses progress recently achieved in modeling bacterial membranes. It will be a valuable resource for graduate students, researchers and instructors in biochemistry, biophysics, pharmacology, physiology, and computational biology.
Publication Date: 2019
Microbial Communities in Aquaculture Ecosystems by This book sheds light on the major functions of microbial communities in aquaculture ecosystems, showing that by recycling nutrients, degrading organic matter and preventing disease outbreaks, a variety of microbes are truly beneficial to a wide range of aquaculture industries. It discusses how deteriorating environmental quality enables some microbial strains to trigger disease, describes the development of highly sustainable tools to improve water quality, and identifies crucial factors that endanger microbial homeostasis in aquaculture ecosystems. The book also covers post-antibiotic approaches for preventing and treating opportunistic microbial infections based on harnessing environmental and fish-associated microbial communities. Furthermore, it explores how manipulating and engineering these complex microbial communities using bio-agents such as probiotics, phages, natural nutritional additives, or with fine-tuned biofilters will open the door for new ways to develop a more sustainable and cost-effective aquaculture industry. Including an accessible presentation of modern high-throughput sequencing technology to identify host-microbial interactions in aquaculture ecosystems, this book is a valuable resource for scientists, aquaculture and fishery experts, sustainability enthusiasts and scholars in the areas of biology and marine agriculture.
Publication Date: 2019
The Nature of Plants by Choice Outstanding Academic TitlePlants play a critical role in how we experience our environment. They create calming green spaces, provide oxygen for us to breathe, and nourish our senses. In The Nature of Plants, ecologist and nursery owner Craig Huegel demystifies the complex lives of plants and provides readers with an elucidating journey into their inner and outer workings.Beginning with the importance of light, water, and soil, Huegel describes photosynthesis, plant circadian rhythms, and how best to position plants to receive optimal sunlight. He explains choosing artificial lights for landscaping, giving lucky bamboo its twisted shape, and tricking flowers like poinsettias to bloom at a specific time of year. He reveals how plants use water, what paths it takes to move nutrients and fuel growth, and why too much?or too little?can hurt. He also explains what essential elements plants need to flourish and what friendly bacteria, fungi, and insects help make a healthy soil.Sections on plant structure and reproduction focus in detail on major plant organs?roots, stems, and leaves?and cover flowering, pollination, fruit development, and seed germination. The intricacies behind how plants reproduce are unraveled, including why not all flowering plants need pollinators, how it can take decades for some plants to produce offspring, and whether parents recognize their kin. Huegel even delves into the mysterious world of plant communication, exploring the messages and warnings conveyed to animals or other plants through chemical scents and hormones.With color illustrations, photographs, and real-life examples from his own gardening experiences, Huegel equips budding botanists, ecologists, and even the most novice gardeners with knowledge that will help them understand and foster plants of all types.
Publication Date: 2019
Follow the FAU Libraries!
Guide to Science Information Sources:
Wimberly Library Hours
Boca Raton Campus
Summer 2021 Semester Hours (Boca Raton):
The library building is open for the Spring 2021 semester from 7:35 am - 6:00 p.m., Monday-Friday (see our hours page for any changes). Many of us are still working remotely, and are available to to meet with you virtually.
It's easy to reach us!
Partner Campus Library Hours: