A-Z Databases

This reference work is an annual publication of British and world events, from 1758 to the Present Day. It provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events, with historical context, perspective, and biographical information. It provides insights into attitudes towards the events and issues of the time.

Candid’s Foundation Directory gives you access to the information you need to be smart and strategic with your funding requests. The tools available on Foundation Directory allow you to tap funding opportunities beyond open Requests for Proposals (RFPS) that make up less than 1% of total foundation funding. Digging deeper is critical to your fundraising success.

Student Tech Fee Funded for 3 years (summer of 2024 - summer of 2027)

Use Covidence to streamline systematic reviews. To sign in and/or create an account:

1. After clicking the link above, use your FAU email address, then click the blue button.
2. Complete the FAU Single Sign-On steps as usual.
3. Fill in the form and click 'Create account'.
4. You will be brought to the Covidence homepage.

Analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress since 1945. Data on the voting patterns of Congress members provides insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.

For first time users, the product link above will resolve to a page asking for your FAU email address.
After clicking 'Continue', the next page will present another sign-in option, but instead, use the button 'Send Magic Link'. That button will generate an email containing a link to the product.

Inside the email, click the hyperlink 'Magic Link' to open platform access to First Aid Forward- Step 1.

To create credentials, use the drop down from your profile icon on the top, right of the page, to the right of your name; choose 'My Account'. It will be necessary to 'edit' this area for a 'new password'.

For first-time users - make sure you are signed out of Step one. Then, click the hyperlink above for Step two. A page prompting you for your FAU email address will resolve.
After clicking 'Continue', another sign-in page results. Click instead on the 'Send Magic Link' button.
You will receive an email containing a link for access to the product.

From that email, use the hyperlink to open the resource.

You are now registered for Step two. Use the drop down on the top, left to toggle between Step one and Step two.

HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published.
In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.

Archive years of the Miami Herald from 1911 to 1982, with full-text content of local and regional news.

National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.’s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.

Funded by statewide allocation.

This database replaces Literature Online (LION). ProQuest One Literature contains a large amount of primary works, including rare texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theater performances, and author readings. In addition, there are citations from thousands of journals, monographs, and dissertations.
Other sources, such as book reviews and criticism, are found in interdisciplinary publications ranging from the humanities to history, thus providing diverse, global perspectives in sources from all over the world, the majority being full-text.

Paid for by the Department of Political Science.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data - from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Questions, charts, demographic crosstabs, and dataset downloads are immediately available.

SAGE Business Skills helps students develop and practice real-world skills to
transition from campus to the modern workplace through interactive self assessment, virtual scenarios, downloadable data, and expert insights. Supporting a range of courses, a self-guided journey to gain career-ready skill sets for professional success.

To gain access to the eresource, create an account by clicking the Register button on the top, right of the page. Fill out the pop-up form, then click the blue Register button.

If you have a Course Assigner role, please update your student groups at the close of the semester.

These self-paced and instructor led courses cover the essential skills needed to thrive in academic study or research pursuits. Supports the teaching and learning of skills and research methods across all stages of academic study. Course topics include data literacy, research skills, data science skills, and getting published.

Provides access to statistical datasets across 16 areas, including Business, Education, Health, Criminal Justice and Law Enforcement, Government and Politics, and more. Results can be compared and viewed in customizable tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.

A collection of SAGE's encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and a new cateogory called debates - all concerning the social and behavioral sciences, and education.

Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

Supports research at all levels by helping to guide users through every step of the research process. From a quick dictionary definition, a case study example from a researcher in the field, a downloadable teaching dataset, a full-text title from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, or a video tutorial showing research in action.

Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

See methods in action in this video collection covering the full research process.
While one can read about best practices, seeing researchers on film—such as a focus group facilitator interacting with participants—brings a deeper dimension to methods content. Includes 25 disciplines and collections ranging from 'Doing Research online', 'Qualitative and mixed Methods', to 'Research Ethics and Integrity'.

SAGE Skills Student Success helps students develop and practice academic and personal skills for transition to campus life and enable lifelong learning. This resource includes over 1000 skill topics across ten modules, through self assessments, interactive scenarios, downloadable exercises, original videos, and more.

Instructors, please use the permalink for these videos in Canvas; the video embed code does not work properly.

This module includes 11 discipline-specific areas, featuring experts in their fields, and a variety of video types - tutorials, case studies, interviews, documentaries, and others.
The academic disciplines range from Business, Education, Leadership, Nursing, Psychology, Social Work, and more.