Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Explorer 11 Will No Longer Be Supported as of November 20, 2020. Read More...

Clinical Affiliate Faculty Library User Guide: Database Quick Reference

FAU Medical Library

To return to the Medical and Health Sciences Collections and User Services page, please click here

Quick Reference Resource

This page is a Quick Reference guide to help navigate the FAU medical library resources. Main boxes break down FAU library resources into three areas:  Point of Care, Research, and Tools & More. Tabs then further organize resources by their features so that you can quickly navigate to the resource that would benefit your practice the most. 

A Comprehensive list of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Science databases can be found here.

Point of Care

All Patient Education sources are available in English. 

 

  • AccessMedicine
    • Location: On the main page, within the gray bar above the search box. 
    • Languages: Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, French, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Vietnamese.
    • Audience: General (adult) and Pediatric
  • AccessPediatrics
    • Location: On the main page, above the searchbar
    • Languages: Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, French, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Vietnamese. 
    • Audience: General (adult) and Pediatric 
  • ClinicalKey
    • Location: On the main page, within the white "browse" bar under the search box. 
    • Languages:  Arabic, Bosnian, Spanish, Canadian French, Haitian Creole, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Mandarin Chinese. 
    • Audience: General (adult) 
  • Facts & Comparisons
    • Location: Can be found in the Formulary Monographic Service's P&T Formulary Reviews and P&T Summary Reviews; if available, patient education will be located within the selected topic.  
    • Languages: Available in Spanish via "switch language" feature within education page tab. 
    • Audience: General (adult); some patient education topics also available for Pediatric patients. 
  • Natural Medicines
    • Location: Can be found within the search term, using the search box on the main page. 
    • Languages:  English, Spanish, and French
    • Audience: General (adult)
  • Trip
    • Location: Within the searched topic, and can be chosen from the Evidence column on the right side of the page. 
    • Languages: Sources listed link out to outside sources, no language filter available. 
    • Audience: General (adult)

Select library provided Point of Care tutorial guides can be accessed here

Databases covered:

  • Access Medicine
  • Clinical Key
  • Facts & Comparisons

 

Tools & More

  • AMA Manual of Style Online
    • The AMA Manual of Style is a guide for anyone involved in medical and scientific publishing. This online manual delivers the highest quality content, in an easy-to-use way, helping you find the information you need to produce well-organized and authoritative articles and research papers.
  • EndNote Web Basic
    • Provided through FAU Libraries' subscription to Web of Science. 
      • For access:

        • Go to the Web of Science database.  
        • Sign in at the top right side of the page (or register for a free account with you FAU email) 
        • Click on "My Tools" at the top right side of the page and choose "EndNote."
  • Refworks
    • Will be discontinued at the end of 2020. Please save and transfer all citations. 

    Mango Connect 

iOSAndroid

Download the app to get your first language in any language for free. Link your profile to FAU Libraries to gain full access to Mango content. 

Medical Spanish lessons available. 

Mobile apps LibGuide can be accessed here and breaks down the database apps using similar tab features based on function. 

Instructions to access apps are provided on the Mobile apps page if needed.

  • BMJ Case Reports
    • Please reach out to the medical department for the fellowship code available via the FAU Libraries' annual subscription.
    • Instructions for Authors regarding writing and submission are available HERE
  • Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities - Educational Directory
    • Cabell's Directory helps authors determine which journal will most likely accept their manuscript by comparing the characteristics of the manuscript and the needs of each journal. The Educational Directories and the Business Directories are included.
  • Cureus: Flagship
    • Academic channel for Florida medical education institutions. 
    • FREE to publish in. 
    • Published in as little as 5 weeks. 
    • Please reach out to Dr. Dedonno, deputy editor for any publishing questions: mdedonno@health.fau.edu 
    • Please reach out to Tiffay Follin for any library assistance: tfollin@health.fau.edu. 
  • Scholarly Publishing Guide
    • Created by FAU Libraries' Scholarly Communication Program
  • Web of Science: Endnote's Journal Matching 

For access:

  • Go to Web of Science database.  
  • Sign in at the top right side of the page (or register for a free account with you FAU email) 
  • Click on "My Tools" at the top right side of the page and choose "EndNote."

To utilize the Journal Match feature:

  • Click "Match," located in the dark gray navigation bar
  • Enter the title of your manuscript
  • Enter your abstract
  • Click "Find Journals."

Research

  • Cochrane Library
    • "Limit Search" option allows only results with Cochrane (systematic) reviews to be displayed. Other limit options also available. 
  • Embase
    • Search for EMB using "limits" when conducting an initial search: limits results to Cochrane Review, Systematic Review, Meta Analysis, Controlled Clinical Trial, and Randomized Trial. 
  • Natural Medicines
    • Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Rating (NMBER) provide a 1-10 scale that is based on three components: Safety, Effectiveness, and Product Quality.
  • Pubmed/ Medline
    • Contains Evidence-based research but no filter or classification options. 
  • Trip
    • Option to refine a search by evidence type. Searches are color coded by evidence type with an evidence pyramid icon for quick reference. 
  • UpToDate
    • Access is limited to current FAU students, core teaching faculty members, and residents.
      Evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information. Please note: This resource is to be used for educational purposes only. Off-campus users must login to their UpToDate account in order to use the resources. If they do not have an account, they will be directed to a one-time registration process to create one.

 

​FAU provided resources that offer images are located below.  Our Finding Images LibGuide offers additional information on these, as well as alternative sources available through the internet. 

 

Boolean Terms

Use AND, OR, and NOT when searching. You can manually create a Boolean search on *any* of the above journal sites. 

Of the above, the following websites offer preset fields for Boolean searches. 

Note: Changing the language of the page does not always have an effect on the translation of search results. Results may still be in English. 

All Patient education sources are available in English: translations available are listed below. 

  • AccessMedicine
    • Interface: available in Portuguese. 
    • Patient education: Available in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, French, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. 
      • Note: Medicines Advisor only offers Spanish translations.
  • AccessPediatrics
    • Interface: (only available in English)
    •  Patient education: Available in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, French, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. 
      • Note: Medicines Advisor only offers Spanish translations. 
  • ClinicalKey
    • Interface: available  in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Farsi, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Russian
    • Patient education: available in Arabic, Bosnian, Spanish, Canadian French, Haitian Creole, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Mandarin Chinese. 
  • Facts & Comparisons
    • Interface: available in Spanish, Canadian French, German, Czech, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Malay.
    • Patient education: available in Spanish via "switch language" feature within the individual drug page's "adult patient education" and "pediatric patient education" tabs. 
  • Natural Medicines
    • Interface: (only available in English)
    • Patient Education: English, Spanish, French (provided within select topics) 
  • Web of Science
    • Interface: available in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, English, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian. 
    • Search: Restrict search results by language using the Advance Search option (30+ languages available) 
  • Embase
  • Medline/ Pubmed  
    • PICO form available via web browser here
  • Trip

 

Pico Cheat Sheet

Trial Databases

Medical Liaison and Outreach Librarian

Tiffany Follin's picture
Tiffany Follin
Contact:
Virtual Office Hours
Monday-Friday: 11pm- 1pm.
Visit Me Virtually

Drop-ins are welcome & appointments available on request.
561-297-3642
Website