Skip to main content

College of Medicine Affiliate Faculty & Residents Library User Guide: FAU Libraries Mobile Resources Apps

FAU Medical Library

To return to the Medical and Health Sciences Collections and User Services page, please click here

Point of Care

 Access Medicine

iOS | Android 

The AccessMedicine App from McGraw-Hill Medical delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for your clinical practice.  For continued access, a user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution. Click here for more information.   

Features:

  • Quick Medical Dx & Tx, a collection of concise evidence-based outlines. 
  • Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, provides color images & a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases. 
  • Differential Diagnostic Tool,  provides more than 1,000 diagnoses through Diagnosaurus®.
  • Diagnostic Tests, a quick reference guide to the selections and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests. 

 

    ClinicalKey

iOS | Android

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine from Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services. ClinicalKey helps clinicians rapidly access evidence-based, peer reviewed information to improve speed to accurate diagnosis and treatment, with the goal of improving patient outcomes and lowering the high cost of care. ClinicalKey’s Smart Search technology understands specific questions and pulls the most clinically relevant results from more than 1,000 reference books, 600 journals, 2,900 drug monographs, 17,000+ videos and more. Users must initially create a user name and password on-campus on the database site and can then access the full database from mobile devices.  Alternatively, ClinicalKey can be accessed via EZproxy.

Some Features

  • Guidelines. 
  • Patient Education.
  • First Consult. 
  • CME Credits

Tip: Search for term, then use filter option in lower left corner to choose your desired content type

 

   Dynamed

iOS | Android

Designed for use at the point of care, providing best available evidence and updated daily. First time users must sign in with their FAU credentials. See access instructions below. 

Directions to access

  •  If you're on campus, go to DynaMed here. If you're off campus, sign into the EZproxy first: https://login.ezproxy.fau.edu/login then go to DynaMed from our homepage: http://www.library.fau.edu/med/ 
  •  Click on "Mobile" on the top, left menu.
  • Enter your FAU email address and click "Send".
  • Follow prompts in the email to download and access the DynaMed app. 

 

 

   Stat!Ref

iOS | Android

STAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere. STAT!Ref is available through mobile applications that are supported by most popular devices or through web enabled mobile access technology (STAT!Ref Mobile). Users must initially create an account on-campus and can then access the app from mobile devices.

Directions to Create Account:

  • Access your STAT!Ref subscription as you would normally. 
  • Click the blue “My STAT!Ref” hyperlink in the upper right corner. 
  • If you do not have a “My STAT!Ref” account, set-up your account by simply entering your name, state, phone number, e-mail address and a “My STAT!Ref” password.
  • Click the “Temporary Login Account” tab and click the “Activate/Renew” icon activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via a username and password on your mobile device. This account will be the same as “My STAT!Ref”account - “My STAT!Ref” email address and password become a login account, temporarily.Once you are authenticated, the preferences-based login can be used for 90 days, after which you must click the“Activate/Renew” button from the temporary login account screen again. To renew “My STAT!Ref” login account you will have to log in via an official log in method*, connect to “My STAT!Ref” account and click the “Activate/Renew” button again.

Here is a helpful video tutorial:

STAT!Ref Mobile App Demonstration Video

Language

  Mango Connect

iOS | Android

Mango Connect is an online self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 16 ESL classes taught in the native language. Each lesson combines real life situations and audio from native speakers with simple, clear instructions.

Download the app to get your first language in any language for free. Link your profile to FAU Libraries to gain full access to Mango content. 

Website format available here

 

Research

 Cochrane Library

iOS | Android

The iPad edition of the Cochrane Library offers an auto-updated selection of the highest quality evidence from Cochrane Reviews published in the last month. Previous issues are archived for easy access. App is free, however please note that it does not offer full access to the database: FAU users will have to visit Cochrane through the main library page for full content access.   

Features:

  • 12 Cochrane Reviews specially selected for every monthly issue.
  •  Downloadable Cochrane Library content for reading offline. 
  • A bookmark feature for creating your own special collections of Cochrane evidence. 


  Jove 

iOS | Android 

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. The JoVE iOS app can be used to browse through and search for JoVE science videos and protocol text. Users can also add videos to their favorites list, as well as browse through suggested recommended videos based off of favorites. First time users will need to "sign up" with their FAU credentials to obtain access to JOVE videos. An activation link will be sent to your FAU email.  

 

 PubMed

iOS | Android 

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Journal abstracts, TBLs ("the bottom line" summaries) and full text articles (requires subscription to journals) can be accessed anywhere the Internet is available.

 Log into EZ Proxy first. If the article is available through FAU, users will be led to the article after clicking "Full Text." If the article is not available, users will be brought to the PubMed search page: users can then fill out an ILL request for that article. 

Features:

  • PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query
  •  askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool
  • Consensus Abstracts: Search using PICO or askMEDLINE then select concurring abstracts from journals. View selected TBLs and Abstracts in one page.
  • CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy.
  • Journal Browser: read the latest abstracts and TBLs of MEDLINE indexed journals.
  • Archive: save search results for reading later
  • Retrieved citations may be sent by e-mail from any of the featured tools
  • Compatible with iOS 6 to 8.

 

 Ovid

iOS | Android 

Now you can read your favorite journals from work in an easy-to-use app for your iPad! 

First time users will need to create an account through Ovid. For access directions, click here. Once your token is activated, you will have to renew your account access every 90 days. 

   Trip database

Literature available through mobile friendly Trip website, there is not an available app. Free to use but registered users receive many benefits when they sign in. 

 

    MedOne 

iOS | Android 

 

Combining expert information with stunning visuals and video, MedOne provides access to Thieme’s award-winning content across multiple specialties including neurosurgery, radiology, plastic surgery and medical education. The companion MedOne app allows access to your MedOne content, which can be viewed in offline or online access mode. Easily load your e-books and e-journals on your iPhone or iPad and read when and where you want.

First time users will need to be on the campus wireless network to access the app. 

 

  QxMD Read

iOS | Android 

'Read by QxMD' provides a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific research, read outstanding topic reviews and search PubMed. Users will need to sign into app with their FAU credentials. Once verified, QxMD will remain logged in. 

Features: 

  • Get full text PDFs with one tap
  •  Keep up with the latest new research that will impact your practice
  •  Browse through 1000s of outstanding topic reviews
  •  Search millions of articles from PubMed and our database of outstanding topic reviews
  •  Read your favorite journals or browse article collections.
  •  Access full text through your university/institutional subscription or via open access publishers
  •  Share articles with colleagues over email, Twitter and Facebook
  •  Organize and review your personal collection of articles
  •  Earn CME credit.