Skip to main content

SLS 1501 FAU Honors: Home

Library Hours
Boca Raton & Partner Campuses

Fall 2020 Semester Hours (Boca Raton):

The library building reopened for Fall 2020 on August 20, 2020. Many of us are still working remotely, but we would like to meet with you virtually. Keep current with the latest news from the library for Fall 2020.

It's easy to reach us! 

Partner Campus Library Hours:‚Äč

"I'm not telling you it's going to be easy - I'm telling you it's going to be worth it." ~~ Art Williams 

 "Basic research is what I am doing when I don't what I am doing." ~~ Wernher von Braun

"Research is creating new knowledge." ~~ Neil Armstrong

"I do not think that there has been a film that I've done that hasn't been influenced by libraries and archives."  ~~ Ken Burns

 

Getting Started

This Subject Guide is for and provides resources useful for your SLS 1501 Honors Intro to Academic Life
  • Getting Started: Provides a brief overview of the many different departments in the library that can help you with your research needs.
  • The Research Cycle: Provides an explanation of the research process as well as information to other services or sources offered here at the FAU or beyond.
  • Finding Books: Provides both with information on how to find a book and read a catalog record as well as search the library catalog for a book. 
  • Indexes/Databases & Journals: Offers links to FAU Databases and Academic Journals that have research material on Early Modern Britain.
  • OneSearch: Provides the ability to search across the entire library platform.
  • Obtaining Resources Beyond the Walls of FAU: Provides information regarding Interlibrary Loan and UBorrow as well as Google Scholar and Google Books.
  • Plagiarism: Information on the topic of plagiarism, as well as, links to FAU Honor Code can be found here.
  • Citations: This section will provide you with valuable information and websites on various citations styles need to properly cite your work when doing research.  (This link and tab will take you into a new page.)
  • Website Evaluation:  This link will provide you valuable information different types of websites and information on how to evaluate them for their creditability.  (This link and tab will take you into a new page.)
  • Research Assistance: If you need help with your research their are many ways you can reach the Instruction and Engagement Department for research assistance.

Subject Librarian

Lawrence Mello's picture
Lawrence Mello
Contact:
Assistant University Librarian with Instruction and Engagement Department

S.E. Wimberly Library, LY 149

I am currently working remotely. If you like a Research Consultation you can schedule a Webex appointment with me!
(Flag icon below links to the Consultation Request Form)
561-297-4536
Website

Get Help!

Call for help! E-mail a Librarian Chat with a Librarian Library Do-It-Yourself DIY Guide Request a Consultation Video Tutorials Virtual Office Video Conference