We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides.
If you have any questions or concerns about this process
please let us know.
Search for all thematic catalogs in the Library catalog by typing in [thematic catalog OR thematic index] and hitting Search (without the punctuation)
Search by an individual composer's name and the words [thematic catalog OR thematic index] i.e., Mozart thematic catalog OR thematic index
Conduct a similar search using Google; Bing; Edge; Duck Duck Go; or other web browsers. Different web browsers may give you different results.
Look at the title of the catalog. Check to see if FAU Libraries has the thematic catalog available.
If FAU Libraries does not have the thematic catalog available, check to see if it is freely available online, or request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Look in our database, Oxford Music Online, and search for the composer. In the composer's information, check in the section for "Works" to see if a thematic catalog is listed for the composer.
Check the FAU Libraries Catalog to see if we have the thematic catalog available.
If FAU Libraries does not have the thematic catalog available, check to see if it is freely available online, or request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Dissertations and Theses
Search for dissertations and theses by topic, title, keyword(s), author, institution, year of publication, etc. Each of these databases has its own specific search engine, so all search options may not be available in every database.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global includes international dissertations and theses as well as all previous content. It is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
A known problem with searching Dissertations and Theses: It's necessary to search the WorldCat.org database, then use the Format facet "Thesis, Dissertation" under Book to narrow results.
Provides access to to over 8 million records of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries catalogs in the WorldCat database. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Conference Papers and Festschriften
Festschriften (plural of festschrift) are writings by different authors that are collected and presented as a tribute or memorial to a scholar. Not all festschriften are available translated into English.
Ways to find Festschriften:
Using OneSearch (default search engine in the blue box on FAU Library's home page), search for the composer's name and the word [festschrift].
Some of these may appear as information within an article and may not be the actual festschrift.
If FAU Libraries does not have access to the festschrift, you may request it via Interlibrary Loan.
