LibGuides: HIS 4935: Senior Seminar: Hitler and Stalin / Dr. Kollander: Databases & Journals

When to Use Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals

Are you trying to decide whether to use our Indexes/Databases vs. Electronic Journals?

If you are researching a particular topic and you know the name of the database you want to use click on the following:

Indexes/Databases

If you are looking for a specific journal title and want to see if we have access to it then click on the following:

Electronic Journals

Indexes/Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online brings together over 40 multidisciplinary video collections from Alexander Street Press, covering art and architecture, diversity, health sciences, history, music and performing arts, psychology and counseling, sciences and engineering, and social sciences. See separate collection titles and the mulitmedia platform -Alexander Street Press- within our A-Z Database List.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
An all-inclusive list of databases available to FAU from this vendor.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources combines Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online (modules 1-4), The Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, allowing users to search all databases simultaneously. These primary source collections include digitized monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps.
Historical Atlanta Daily World This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
Black Studies Center provides the full-text backfile, from 1910 to 1975, of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Historical Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
The Amsterdam News was founded as a six-page weekly covering local news by James Henry Anderson in 1909. Under the ownership of C. B. Powell and Philip M. H. Savory from 1938, it became the largest black community weekly in the United States. Contributors to the newspaper have included W. E. B. Du Bois, Roy Wilkins and Malcolm X.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Historical Pittsburgh Courier This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historical Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly and for each article cited in the database, an abstract of up to 75 words is included. This resource offers the complete pages images from the entire run of the paper, dating back to the first 1889 issue .
Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Studies Online provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 2000 scholarly journals in education, humanities, mathematics, science, and social science disciplines. Most full-text access is archival; some current full text.
Also includes a collection of over 500 Spanish-language e-books, which are student tech fee funded.
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Composed of content from over 400 journals, this resource covers all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Key subjects covered include: socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure of armed forces, and many more.
NYPL Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Open Access
NYPL Digital Gallery is the New York Public Library's image database, developed to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
Special Collections at FAU Libraries This link opens in a new window
Open Access
Directory of non-circulating collections of rare books, pamphlets, letters, manuscripts, music scores, sheet music, music recordings, artists, books, artwork, photographs, faculty papers and university records found in the FAU Libraries' Special Collections Department. Includes materials in the Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection, Recorded Sound Archives, and the Arthur and Mata Jaffe Center for Book Arts.
Testaments to the Holocaust This link opens in a new window
This digital resource offers the unique collection of eyewitness accounts from the World's oldest Holocaust museum, founded by Alfred Wiener as the "Jewish Central Information Office" in 1939. The collection offers fully searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, along with photographs, propaganda materials such as school text books, limited circulation publications, and rare serials.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search with the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive on Gale NewsVault.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full-facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. This compilation of journals will be useful both for the novice historian and the advanced academic researcher.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries exploring human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The videos cover Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Recommended Journals

Electronic Journals also known as e-journals, or electronic serials, are academic and scholarly written journals or intellectual magazines once printed and bound now can be accessed via electronic transmission.

The link below will allow you to search to see if a particular Journal Title is available in electronic form:

Electronic Journals

Below are just a few of the journal titles on the subject of History here at the library.

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

NEW - OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials