Additional Help
SearchWise covers all subject areas and includes a vast amount of resources in many formats. Library resources may also be found by searching these links:
- Citation LinkerSearch for a specific article citation to check availability in FAU's electronic collection.
- Databases by SubjectSearch for articles in databases focused on specific subjects.
- FAU Library CatalogSearch for books, DVDs, and other items owned by FAU.
- Electronic Journals by TitleFind out which FAU journals are available online.
- Ask a LibrarianE-mail, text, or chat online with a librarian if you need help.
Browser Support
SearchWiSE supports the following browsers and phones:
- Internet Explorer 6.0+
- Firefox 3.0+
- Safari 3.0+
- iPhone 2.0+
- BlackBerry 8500+
- Android 1.0+
SearchWiSE
WHAT DO YOU THINK? TAKE THE SEARCHWISE SURVEY!
Click on the
icon for search help and information about this search engine.
General Search Tips
Be specific for best results, e.g. photography during the civil war, not just civil war.
After entering a search, use the facets on the left to narrow the results:
-
target only peer-reviewed articles
-
show only items with Full Text available online
-
include/exclude newspaper articles, books, journal articles, and more
-
limit your results by date, language, format or subject
Expanding your search
Mark the facet on the left labeled "Add results beyond your library's collection" to search more places and include items not found in FAU Libraries. For items not available in the FAU Libraries collections, click on the title and scroll down to "Request document through ILLiad" to place an interlibrary loan request for the item (Pre-registration required to use this service).
Careers
To include or exclude concepts, ideas and topics in your search, use the operators AND, OR and NOT:
- career development planning
- career planning
- careers
- education
- employment
- higher education
- job hunting
- salary
- training
- wages
Using two or more of these concepts, ideas and topics with AND will yield more specific results:
- careers AND employment
- careers AND salaries OR wages
- higher education AND salary
- training AND development
- wages AND education
Of course, you can always add standard limiters such as:
- United States
- internship
Remember to use "quotation marks" around phrases for more specific results.


Loading...
