Skip to main content

Medical Databases: Quick Reference: Home

FAU Medical Library

To return to the Medical and Health Sciences Collections and User Services page, please click Here

Quick Reference Resource

This Page is a Quick Reference database guide to help navigate the FAU medical resources. Main boxes break down FAU resources into three areas:  Point of Care, Research, and Tools & More. Tabs then further organize resources by their features so that you can quickly navigate to the database that would benefit your practice the most. 

The Comprehensive list of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Science databases can be found here.

 

Point of Care

All Patient Education sources are available in English. 

 

  • AccessMedicine
    • Location: On the main page, within the gray bar above the search box. 
    • Languages: Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, French, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, Vietnamese.
    • Audience: four categories- Acute advisor, Adult advisor, Medicines advisor, Pediatric advisor. 
  • ClinicalKey
    • Location: On the main page, within the white "browse" bar under the search box. 
    • Languages:  Arabic, Bosnian, Spanish, Canadian French, Haitian Creole, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Mandarin Chinese. 
    • Audience: General (adult) 
  • Dynamed
    • Location: Can be found within the search term, using the search box on the main page. 
    • Languages: Sources listed in Dynamed link out to outside sources, no language filter available. 
    • Audience: General (adult) 
  • Facts & Comparisons
    • Location: Can be found in the Formulary Monographic Service's P&T Formulary Reviews and P&T Summary Reviews; if available, patient education will be located within the selected topic.  
    • Languages: Available in Spanish via "switch language" feature within education page tab. 
    • Audience: General (adult); some patient education topics also available for Pediatric patients. 
  • Natural Medicines
    • Location: Can be found within the search term, using the search box on the main page. 
    • Languages:  English, Spanish, and French
    • Audience: General (adult)
  • Stat!Ref
    • Location:  Can be found in the left blue column of the results page, after using the main-page search box to look up term. 
    • Languages: English and Spanish
    • Audience: General (adult)
  • Trip
    • Location: Within the searched topic, and can be chosen from the Evidence column on the right side of the page. 
    • Languages: Sources listed link out to outside sources, no language filter available. 
    • Audience: General (adult)

Select library provided Point of Care tutorial guides can be accessed here

Databases covered:

  • Access Medicine
  • Clinical Key
  • Dynamed
  • Epocrates
  • Facts & Comparisons

 

Loading

Tools & More

Mobile apps LibGuide can be accessed here and breaks down the database apps using similar tab features based on function. 

Instructions to access apps are provided on the Mobile apps page if needed

Loading

Research

  • Cochrane Library
    • "Limit Search" option allows only results with Cochrane (systematic) reviews to be displayed. Other limit options also available. 
  • Dynamed
    • Levels of evidence are provided (classified as 1,2, or 3) within the searched topic. 
  • Embase
    • Search for EMB using "limits" when conducting an initial search: limits results to Cochrane Review, Systematic Review, Meta Analysis, Controlled Clinical Trial, and Randomized Trial. 
  • Epocrates
    • Contains Evidence-based research but no filter or classification options.  
  • Natural Medicines
    • Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Rating (NMBER) provide a 1-10 scale that is based on three components: Safety, Effectiveness, and Product Quality.
  • Pubmed/ Medline
    • Contains Evidence-based research but no filter or classification options. 
  • Stat!Ref
    • Contains Evidence-based research but no filter or classification options. Searches link out to Pubmed and National Guideline Clearinghouse EBM practice guidelines. 
  • Trip
    • Option to refine a search by evidence type. Searches are color coded by evidence type with an evidence pyramid icon for quick reference. 

 

Boolean Terms

Use AND, OR, and NOT when searching. You can manually create a Boolean search on *any* of the above journal sites. 

Of the above, the following websites offer preset fields for Boolean searches. 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: Changing the language of the page does not always have an effect on the translation of search results. Results may still be in English. 

All Patient education sources are available in English: translations available are listed below. 

  • AccessMedicine
    • Interface: available in Portuguese. 
    • Patient education: is broken into 4 categories and is available in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, French, Korean, Portuguese (Brazilian), Russian, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. 
      • Note: Medicines Advisor only offers Spanish translations.  
  • ClinicalKey
    • Interface: available in 3 languages: German, Portuguese, and Chinese. 
    • Patient education: available in Arabic, Bosnian, Spanish, Canadian French, Haitian Creole, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Mandarin Chinese. 
  • Facts & Comparisons
    • Interface: available in Spanish, Canadian French, German, Czech, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Malay.
    • Patient education: (adult and pediatric) available in Spanish via "switch language" feature within page's tabs. 
  • Natural Medicines
    • Patient Education: English, Spanish, French
  • Stat!Ref
    • Patient Education: English and Spanish
  • Trip 
    • Search: Search using your native language: French, German, Czech, Spanish, Hungarian, Swedish.
      • Short video "Using Trip in other languages" available here
  • Web of Science
    • Interface: available in Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, English, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian. 
    • Search: Restrict search results by language using the Advance Search option. 
Loading

FAU Medical Library

Medical Library's picture
Medical Library
Contact:
561-297-4103 or

561-297-3642
Website / Blog Page