This is the "Home" page of the "Point of Care Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Point of Care Databases  

Last Updated: Dec 11, 2012 URL: http://libguides.fau.edu/point_of_care-medical Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Connect

To acces Point of Care products off campus you will need to log in through Off Campus Connect (EZ Proxy). Make sure to activate your Owl Card at the Circulation Desk.  

What do I need to access library resources?

An OWL card is the official photo identification card for the Florida Atlantic University community and will serve as your library card allowing you to gain remote access to our electronic journals, books, and databases as well as to check out physical books and DVDs from the library.

You may obtain an OWL card by emailing the following information to librarymed@fau.edu:

• NAME
• ADDRESS
• PHONE
• EMAIL
• BIRTH MONTH AND DAY (MMDD) e.g., 0304 for March 4 - this is your initial default password
Z NUMBER - Find it using the FAUNet ID and Z-number Lookup
• A digital passport-type photo of yourself (head and shoulders)


You may opt to visit the FAU Boca Raton Campus OWL Card Center located in the Student Union on the first floor room 129.

You will need to present your contract and a picture ID.

The Student Union Building is marked SU-80 on the FAU Campus Map It is located on the east side of West University Drive. The main entrance from Glades Road onto West University Drive is the best route to take. Convenient parking is located in front of the Student Union in Lot 16.

      

    Purpose of this LibGuide

    Florida Atlantic University and the College of Medicine subscribe to several Point of Care databases. This guide aims to introduce you to the resources available and how to accesss and utilize them.

    All Point of Care databases can be accessed via FAU library's Medical & Health Sciences Collections and User Services or off-campus through EZ Proxy [see box to the left for access via EZ Proxy].

    Point of Care databases:

    • Dynamed
      DynaMed is a clinical reference tool intended for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. Dynamed contains clinically organized evidence-based summaries, American Hospital Formulary Service (AHFS) drug information summaries, patient handouts, calculators, decision trees, a weekly newsletter, and CME credits.
    • Epocrates
      Decision support software that encompasses disease and drug information. Includes disease monographs and prescription and OTC drug information linked to formularies and costing information. Tools include a drug interaction checker, patient information, and guidelines.
    • Facts & Comparisons eAnswers
      Facts & Comparisons eAnswers is a source for drug information aimed at pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals, and provides drug information, interactions, herbal information, and patient medication handouts.
    • MD Consult
      MD Consult is a web-based clinical information resource that provides access to selected books, journals, guidelines, drug information, patient leaflets, CME credits, an image database, RSS subject feeds and news bulletins.
    • STAT!Ref
      STAT!Ref online is a cross-searchable, healthcare reference that integrates core titles with evidence-based resources and tools. Includes AAFP Conditions A-Z (patient information), ACP PIER & AHFS DI Essentials (decision-support tool), MedCalc 3000 (evidence-based calculations), Stat!Ref Evidence Alerts and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. NOTE: [Access is limited to two (2) simultaneous users.]
    Please contact us to report a broken link.
    An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
    © Copyright 2009. Florida Atlantic University
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip