This is the "Selected Mobile Databases" page of the "Mobile Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mobile Databases  

The FAU Libraries subscribes to a number of databases and journals which offer mobile applications. Please check back regularly as we continue to update this information.
Last Updated: May 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fau.edu/mobiledatabases Print Guide RSS Updates

Selected Mobile Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mobile Database Information

For a complete list of databases, see the Electronic Collection.
 
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online includes the Alexander Street Press video collections: American History in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Dance in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Filmakers Library Online, and Theatre in Video.  See Using Your Mobile Device.

ACS (American Chemical Society ) Journals
ACS Mobile ($)  provides readers with a searchable, multi-journal up-to the minute live stream of new peer-reviewed research. The application also includes a "Latest News" feed from Chemical Engineering News. Download ACS Mobile for iPhone and iPad  and Android.

American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)
You can now access the full text of AACR journals from most smartphones using a streamlined interface designed to optimize small-screen navigation and minimize bandwidth usage. Click here for more information.

Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews mobile website provides a personalized browsing, searching, and reading ezperience optimized for mobile use on most iOS, Android and Blackberry devices. Click here for more information.

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library
The ASCE Library site will automatically detect the use of a mobile device, and redirect the user to the mobile edition.

ARTstor
ARTstor is accessible to registered users on the iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch and Androids. The mobile site allows registered users to search, browse, and view previously created image groups. Use your ARTstor username and password to log in to the mobile site.

BioOne
Users will be automatically directed to BioOne's mobile site whenever they access the site from a compatible mobile device. Users accessing the site from an iPad or tablet are shown the full site for optimal viewing, but can select the mobile site if they prefer. Click here for more information.

Britannica Online
The latest edition of Encyclopaedia Britannica Online auto-detects your phone and optimizes the display.

Cambridge Journals Online (CJO)
Mobile devices are detected and automatically directed to CJO Mobile (CJOm) that has been optimised for smartphones and other small mobile devices.

Campus Research on WestlawNext
WestlawNext automatically detects mobile devices. Click here for more information on available features and apps.

Classical Music Library
Listen to classical music on your mobile device (iPhone and Android).

Country Commerce
As an EIU subscriber, you can access reports and data online using your mobile device, such as an e-reader or iPhone. See directions here.

Dynamed
To download the Dynamed app you will need to request a DynaMed serial number and register with DynaMed. College of Medicine affiliates should contact the medical library to request a serial number. All other students and faculty, please contact the  Electronic Resources Unit.  After one year, you will need to request a new serial number and download the program again.

ebrary
E-books go mobile on the ebrary platform and are available on or offline via a dedicated mobile app for the iPad, iPhone, and iPad touch; Option to sign in with Facebook available. Click here for instructions.  Android app now available on Google Play.

EBSCOhost
Apps for the iPhone, iPod Touch and Androids are available for searching EBSCOhost databases. Click here for more information.

Elsevier Science Direct
Free and paid apps available for iPad, iPhone, Blackberry and Androids. To access the full spectrum of content, you will need to register online. For more information click here.

EndNote Web
RefScan powered by Web of Knowledge and EndNote, lets you scan and capture your references, streamlining your research workflow. Click here for more information.

Films on Demand
The On Demand Platform can be accessed using any Internet-connected mobile device that supports Flash video or H264 video streaming, including the iPad 1.0+ and the iPhone 4.0+.

Gale Databases
Gale provides “Access My Library” apps that are compatible with the iPhone, iPod touch, iPad and androids. Use the AML College Edition to access FAU Gale databases.  Registration with an FAU email address is required.  For more information, click here.

Highwire
Highwire will automatically detect mobile devices. Apps are available for the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch. Click here for more information.

IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore Mobile is viewable on all web-enabled mobile devices; however, it has been optimized for mobile devices with screen sizes 320x240pixels and above. Click here for more information.  IEEE Xplore Images is a free app to a searchable and browsable collection of over 1 million images from IEEE’s journal literature.  The App currently runs on iPad 2 or higher. iPhones, iPad Minis, iPod Touches are not supported.  Click here for more information.

IntelleConnect (CCH)
CCH Mobile is available for iPhone, iPad and Blackberry. Click here for more information. Users must register with CCH Group to download CCH Mobile.

IOPscience
IOPscience will automatically detect mobile devices.

JSTOR
The JSTOR Mobile Beta works on iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. Other mobile phones may be supported, but not tested. Click here for more information.

LexisNexis Academic
The LexisNexis Academic Mobile Interface will work with most mobile devices like iPhones or Androids. However, Blackberry users may experience some difficulties with the Blackberry Operating System. While not all of the content in the full version is accessible through the mobile interface, basic searches can be executed quickly and easily.

Library Catalog
The library catalog will automatically detect mobile devices.

Mango Languages
Go mobile with Mango Languages. Users must create a Mango Languages profile. Click here for more information.

MEDLINE/PubMed
PubMed Mobile Beta provides a simplified mobile friendly Web interface to access PubMed. Not all data provided on the Standard PubMed Abstract format are included. PubMed Mobile does not include specialized search pages or added features.

National Journal
National journal will automatically detect mobile devices. Free apps are available for the iPhone and iPad.

Nature Publishing
Users must register for a Nature account. Free apps are available for the iPhone, iPod touch and iPad.

Oxford Journals Online
All of the individual journal websites have been optimized for mobile devices. If you access the journal website on a mobile device, you will be automatically redirected to the mobile version.

RefWorks
All you need is a Web-connected mobile device: mobile phone, smart phone or PDA. RefMobile gives users immediate access to the most commonly used RefWorks functions.

SAGE Journals Online
Users will automatically be redirected to the mobile version.  For instructions on obtaining a voucher for your mobile device click here.  To authenticate mobile device for SAGE Journals click here.

Science Online
You can read full text news stories on the app for Apple and Androids. For peer-reviewed research articles, only abstracts and summaries are available on the app. To read the full text of these articles you must e-mail yourself a link to the full text.

Scitation
The iResearch app is designed for the iPhone, iPod touch and iPad. iResearch requires a Wifi or cellular connection when you access the journals for the first time and to download any PDF articles.

SearchWise (Summon)
Use the link above for a mobile friendly SearchWiSE home page. All SearchWiSE results are displayed in a mobile friendly interface.

SpringerLINK
Apple app compatible with the iPhone, iPad and iPod touch and Android app.

Taylor & Francis Online
Taylor & Francis will automatically detect mobile devices. Supported devices include the iPhone, iPad, iPod touch , Blackberry and Androids. You must register for an account to access the FAU Libraries subscribed content.

Web of Science
Click here for more information on accessing the mobile site.

World Bank
For information on the various apps available from The World Bank click here.

Worldcat
Click here for more information on the mobile site and available apps.
Please contact us to report a broken link.
An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2009. Florida Atlantic University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip