Skip to main content

Medical and Health Sciences-Mobile Apps: Home

Point of Care and Database Mobile resources

Some FAU databases have mobile applications and/or mobile sites. These are accessible to FAU students, faculty, staff, and administration.

DynaMed  

(Free to students, staff, and faculty, with the FAU institution subscription)

Designed for use at the point of care, providing best available evidence and updated daily.

1. If you're on campus, go to DynaMed here. If you're off campus, sign into the EZproxy first: https://login.ezproxy.fau.edu/login then go to DynaMed from our homepage: http://www.library.fau.edu/med/ 

2. Click on "Mobile" on the top, left menu

3. Enter your FAU email address and click "Send"

4. Follow prompts in the email to download and access the DynaMed app. 

ClinicalKey/First Consult

(Free to students, staff, and faculty, with the FAU institution subscription)

ClinicalKey is a web-based clinical information resource that provides access to selected books, journals, guidelines, drug information, patient leaflets, CME credits, an image database, RSS subject feeds and news bulletins.  Users must initially create a user name and password on-campus on the database site and can then access the full database from mobile devices.  Alternatively, ClinicalKey can be accessed via EZproxy.

Epocrates Rx  

(Free)

Mobile drug reference app that includes a drug guide, formulary information, a pill ID tool, drug interaction checker and more. There are more comprehensive versions of the Epocrates app available for a fee. 

Stat!Ref 

(Free)

STAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere. STAT!Ref is available through mobile applications that are supported by most popular devices or through web enabled mobile access technology (STAT!Ref Mobile). Users must initially create a user name and password on-campus and can then access the app from mobile devices.

Directions:
• Access your STAT!Ref subscription as you would normally
• Click the “My STAT!Ref” link in the upper right corner
• If you do not have a “My STAT!Ref” account, set-up your account by simply entering your name, state, phone number,
e-mail address and a “My STAT!Ref” password
• Click the “Temporary Login Account” tab and click the “Activate/Renew” icon
Activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via a username
and password on your mobile device. This account will be the same as “My STAT!Ref”account - “My STAT!Ref” email address
and password become a login account, temporarily.
Once you are authenticated, the preferences-based login can be used for 90 days, after which you must click the
“Activate/Renew” button from the temporary login account screen again. To renew “My STAT!Ref” login account you will
have to log in via an official log in method*, connect to “My STAT!Ref” account and click the “Activate/Renew”
button again.

Here is a helpful video tutorial:

STAT!Ref Mobile App Demonstration Video

Recommended

**NEW** Browzine 

This app enables users to to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from your university or college library, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines. Once you have downloaded the app, search for FAU as your library and login with your FAUNet ID and password. 

**M1 Recommendation for Accessing SharePoint Calendar on the iPad** harmon.ieLite

Access SharePoint directly from your iOS mobile device with harmon.ie's mobile app. Connect to SharePoint anywhere, anytime from your iPad or your iPhone.

Medscape 

A database from WebMD of drug information, disease clinical references, clinical images and procedure videos, drug interaction tool plus CME activities. You must register to use this app.

Micromedex Drug Information  

Database of unbiased drug info that identifies generic names, black box warnings, adverse effects, interactions, etc. for hundreds of thousands of commercial, pharmaceutical and biological substances.

NLM Mobile

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Gallery offers a collection of mobile applications and sites via its mobile-friendly site. 

PubMed for Handhelds

A website for searching Medline with the web browser of any mobile device.  No software installation required. PICO Searching, askMEDLINE, Consensus Abstracts, MEDLINE/PUBMED, Disease Associations all directly from the National Library of Medicine.

PubMed on Tap Lite

This app enables users to search PubMed, save PDF's, email PDF's, link to Full Text articles and more. Provided by the National Library of Medicine.