Skip to main content

Faculty Resources & Services LibGuide: Link to Library Resources

Proxy URL Link Maker

Use Link Maker to easily add the Off Campus Connect prefix to the front of a permalink to an ebook, electronic journal, DOI, or other digital object.   

Link Maker can also be used to create links to online resources to use course management software, web pages, online syllabi, and other online platforms. These links will allow seamless off-campus access.

Linking from Canvas, PowerPoint, and Other Electronic Sources

Keys to linking to electronic resources:   

  • Copy a durable URL (or permalink) whenever possible.  
  • Look for an icon denoting a durable URL (also may be referred to as a bookmark URL or permalink).
  • Add the OffCampus Connect URL (https://login.ezproxy.fau.edu/login?qurl=) before the resource URL.  This is also necessary for links in Canvas.

Example:
Book Title:   Cell Biology
Author:  Pollard, Thomas D.

Bookmark URL:  http://fau.catalog.fcla.edu/forward.jsp?ig=fa.jsp&type=link&link=http%3A%2F%2Fezproxy.fau.edu%2Flogin%3Furl%3Dhttps%3A%2F%2Fwww.clinicalkey.com%2Fdura%2Fbrowse%2FbookChapter%2F3-s2.0-B9781416022558X50013

URL with Off Campus Connect Prefix:
https://login.ezproxy.fau.edu/login?qurl=http://fau.catalog.fcla.edu/forward.jsp?ig=fa.jsp&type=link&link=http%3A%2F%2Fezproxy.fau.edu%2Flogin%3Furl%3Dhttps%3A%2F%2Fwww.clinicalkey.com%2Fdura%2Fbrowse%2FbookChapter%2F3-s2.0-B9781416022558X50013

Use Link Maker to easily add the Off Campus Connect prefix to a permalink to an ebook, electronic journal, DOI, or other types of online materials. 

Linking Specific Types of Resources

Link to Catalog Record or An E-book:   

  • Click on the title of the item in the catalog.
  • Right click on "permalink" just above the title of the item.   
  • Choose to either copy the shortcut or copy the link, depending upon which browser you are using.
  • Paste this link into your learning tool with the Off Campus Connect URL in place. Use Link Maker if needed to add one.
  • NOTE: This link takes the student to the catalog entry. Follow full-text links, if available, for electronic books or journals.

Link to a Database:

  • Choose Indexes/Databases from the left side of the library home page.
  • Locate the database to which you want to link; right click on the title of the database.
  • The link can be copied either using the “copy link location” (Firefox) or the “copy shortcut” (Internet Explorer) option. 
  • Links copied in this manner already contain the Off Campus Connect URL, so they can be directly pasted into an LMS page or other tool.

Link to a Journal:

  • Choose Electronic Journals from the left side of the library home page.
  • Enter enter the journal name in the search box.
  • If the journal is available, a list with its title, available dates, and the publisher or source from which we receive the journal will appear.
  • Click on the journal source link (see directions above), and copy and paste it into your teaching aid.
  • Alternatively, you can search the catalog for a journal title and use the link posted under “links” on the catalog entry.
  • Make certain that the Off Campus Connect URL appears at the front of the journal URL. If needed, use LinkMaker to add one

Link to a specific article:

  • Due to copyright and other barriers, do not embed PDF file or other full-text source directly into your learning tool.
  • Provide a direct link to the full text of an article subscribed to by FAU.
  • To do this, simply copy and paste the URL of the article, and add the Off Campus Connect prefix to the front of the URL or use Link Maker.
  • Use a permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifiers), when available.

Link to Digital Collections:

  • Contact Joanne Parandjuk (jparandj@fau.edu) of Digital Collections to obtain a PURL (permanent URL) for the item you wish to link.

Link to an RSS Feed From an Electronic Journal:

Troubleshooting:

  • If students are having trouble linking to material, check for an Off Campus Connect prefix attached to the URL of the link.  If not, advise students to login to Off Campus Connect from the library homepage.
  • For assistance with library resources in Canvas, contact the Reference Desk at (561) 297-3785.
  • For technical assistance or other problems with Canvas, contact OIT Help Desk at (561) 297-3999, or visit http://www.fau.edu/canvas/

Compatibility:

  • According to FAU OIT's Canvas FAQs, Canvas can be used with the last two versions of every browser release.  Instructors are highly recommended to have the latest updates of their preferred browsers and also have the most up-to-date Flash plug-in.
  • Canvas supports these popular web browsers and versions of Flash (as of October 2016):
    • Internet Explorer 11 and Edge.
    • Chrome 52 and 53
    • Safari 9 and 10
    • Firefox 48 and 49 (Extended Releases are not supported)
    • Flash 22 and 23 (used for recording or viewing audio/video and uploading files)
    • Respondus Lockdown Browser (supporting the latest system requirements