Skip to Main Content
We are working to upgrade the research experience by making ongoing improvements to our Research Guides.
You may encounter changes in the look and feel of the Research Guides website along with structural changes to our existing guides. If you have any questions or concerns about this process please let us know.

ARH 4371 18th and 19th Century Art History: Books

18th and 19th Century Art History guide for Dr. Karen Leader's course

What's a Call Number?

Did you find a book you wanted in the library catalog?  If so, refer to its call number, found in its catalog record.  Every book is assigned a call number.  Books and library materials are generally organized by call number in the FAU Libraries.

Need more help?  See a short tutorial.

  Selected Book Titles

Books below include some found in the Bibliography portion of your textbook.

Absolute bourgeois: artists and politics in France, 1848-1851
   Call Number: N 6847 .C53

An introduction to Victorian painting
    Call Number: ND 467.5 .V52 B46 1985

Art and culture in the eighteenth century: new dimensions and multiple perspectives
   Call Number: N 6420 .A77 2001

Art history and its Methods: a critical anthology 
  Call Number:  N 85 .A655 1995   

Art History's History
   Call Number:  N380.M556 2001

Art in an age of Bonapartism, 1800-1815
    Call Number: N 6757 .B56 1990

Art in an age of revolution, 1750-1800
   Call Number: N 6425 N4 B6 1987

Art in Europe, 1700-1830: A history of the visual arts in an era of unprecedented urbn economic growth
   Call Number: N 6576 .C73 1997

Artists of the World: Bio-bibliographical Index A-Z
   Call Number: REF N 40 .A62 1999  

Biographical Dictionary of Artists
   Call Number: REF N 40 .B53 1995 

Dictionary of women artists : an international dictionary of women artists born before 1900
   Call Number: REF N 43 .P47 1985

Dreams of happiness: social art and the French Left, 1830-1850
    Call Number: BH 221 .F83 M39 1993

Femininity and masculinity in eighteenth-century art and culture
   Call Number: NX 452 .F46 1994

Goya and the spirit of Enlightenment
    Call Number: N 7113 .G68 A4 1989

Greatest Works of Art of Western Civilization
   Call Number: N 510 .H68 1997 

Grove Dictionary of Art.  From Renaissance to Impressionism: Styles and Movements in Western Art 1400-1900. 
   Call Number: REF N 6370 .G76 2000

Impressionism: reflections and perceptions
   Call Number: NX 549 .A1 S32 1997

Learning to Look: a Handbook for the Visual Arts
   Call Number: N 5305 .T3

Learning to Look at Paintings
   Call Number: ND 1143 .A38 1997

The Methodologies of Art: An Introduction
   Call Number: N 7480 .A32 2010

Oxford Dictionary of Art, 3rd ed.
   Call Number: REF N 33 .O93 1997

Painting of modern life: Paris in the art of Manet and his followers
   Call Number: ND 550 .C55 1985 (first ed.)
                         ND 550 .C55 1999

Realism
    Call Number: N 6465 .R4 N6

Rococo to Revolution: major trends in eighteenth-century painting
   Call Number: ND 180 .L4

A Short Guide to Writing About Art  
   Call Number: N 7476 .B37 2011 

Theory for Art History
   Call Number: N 7480 .E46 2005

Visual Literacy: Writing About Art
   Call Number: N 7476 .T83 2002

Women, art, and power and other essays
   Call Number: N 72 .F45 N64 1988

Writing for the Visual Arts
   Call Number: N 7476 .B47 2001