Skip to main content

FAU Libraries Scholarly Communication Program: Scholarly Publishing

Scholarly Publishing

Scholarly publishing has evolved over hundreds of years from the closed communications of learned societies to large publishing concerns with portfolios of thousands of journals and books. Over the years varying societal changes and medium disruptions have contributed to an influx of research outputs, broader dissemination, and the introduction of new business models. The most recent transition to a predominantly online research environment has presented vast opportunities to researchers,  as well as challenges to the publishing ecosystem, especially to library budgets. This guide addresses issues in scholarly publishing, as well as tools and resources to help the researcher navigate and succeed within the evolving publishing environment.

Recent FAU Faculty Articles

Loading

Choosing a journal

Consult a journal directory to find a journal's publishing information, search by publishing criteria, and confirm its legitimacy. A directory can address questions such as:  What is the journal's review process? What are the metrics? Where is it indexed? What are the journal's aims and scope? Can I publish open access? 

Recommended resource: Publish and prosper. This is a four-part course from The Australian National University that will help you find a best-fit publisher, avoid predatory publisher, and make your mark in publishing.

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities 

  • Subjects: Education and Business
  • Includes: Bibliographic & journal contact information; submission criteria & review process guidelines; journal quality metrics & levels of impact/influence; contextual & analysis tools; author publication experiences

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (Open Access)

  • Subjects: Cross-disciplinary
  • Includes: Indexes high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Also includes article processing charges and licensing terms.

Journal Metrics (Open Access)

  • Subjects: Cross-disciplinary
  • Includes: Journal indicators based on Scopus database (Elsevier B.V.): CiteScore, Citations, SNIP, SJR. Journals can be compared by subject category, or analyzed separately.

Modern Language Association (MLA) Directory of Periodicals

  • Subjects: Literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, history of printing and publishing
  • Includes:  Scope, contact information, publication details, circulation, editorial policies, submission guidelines, and electronic availability.

Scientific Society Publisher Alliance (SSPA)

  • Subjects: Journals published by not-for-profit scientific societies, SSPA
  • Includes: Listing of journals published by SSPA. Includes journal's aims and scope, and links to the submission platform.

Scimago Journal & Country Rankings (Open Access)

  • Subjects: Cross-disciplinary
  • Includes: Journals and country scientific indicators based on  Scopus (Elsevier B.V.) database. Journals can be compared or analyzed separately.

Ulrichsweb: A Global Serials Directory

  • Subjects:  Cross-disciplinary 
  • Includes:  Information on journals, magazines, annuals, series, newspapers, and other periodicals published worldwide. Includes ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.

Consult a disciplinary index to review publications vetted by societies or other organizations. Many of these indexes also allow you to find research and publishing venues based on citations, references or funding.

AGRICOLA

  • Subjects: Agriculture research resource produced by the U.S. National Agriculture Library. International coverage.
  • Evaluation criteria includes subject scope of the journal’s content and overall quality of the journal.  All journals must be peer-reviewed.

APA PsycINFO

  • Subjects: Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • Find research from a specific grant or funding source
  • Journals are considered for coverage if archival, scholarly, peer-reviewed, and regularly published

CINAHL

  • Subjects: Nursing and allied health
  • Find research from a specific grant or funding source

EconLit

  • Subjects: Economics
  • Journals are selected for inclusion in EconLit on the basis of their peer-reviewed economic content, which must be substantial or of equal emphasis in interdisciplinary journals.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) (Open Access)

  • Subjects: Education
  • Includes both peer-reviewed and non-peer reviewed materials. Journal sources may also be subject to a review of editorial and publisher policies and processes. See Eric Selection policy.

Mathematical Reviews

  • Subjects: Mathematics
  • Database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is also provided.

MedLine (Open Access)

  • Subjects: Biomedicine and Life Science
  • Titles selected by the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC). Inclusion Criteria includes scope and coverage,  quality of content, quality of editorial work, production quality, and audience.

MLA International Bibliography

  • Subjects: Language, linguistics and literature, criticism, drama, and folklore
  • Includes published works written for a scholarly audience as well as those of interest to scholars written for general audiences. Both restricted-access and open-access electronic materials are included.

SciFinder 

  • Subject Chemistry and related sciences
  • CAplus (part of SciFinder) Indexes journal and patent information from key scientific journals
  • Includes article citation counts

Web of Science

  • Subjects: Science, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities
  • Consists of an index of over 18,000 journals. Core index includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
  • Includes citation analysis tools and reference searching. Also see the journal finder tools.

Publishers and other organizations have developed new services that assist authors in targeting or narrowing down a group of appropriate journals for publication. These services use different search engines and  vary according to the size and scope of their source databases. 

JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator

  • Suggests journals for biomedical research based on the MEDLINE database.

Research Square's JournalGuide

  • Searches across journal information and abstracts. Provides scope, submission-to-publication time, where the journal is indexed, open access options, page charges and more. JournalGuide also provides links directly to a journals “instructions for authors” page.

Cofactor's Journal Selector

  • A free service that matches researchers publishing in the sciences to journals matching subject, type of peer review, open-access options (including article processing charges), and speed of review and publication.

Manuscript Matcher (See EndNote tab)

  • Analyzes journal data and existing citations from the Web of Science to match your abstract to a well-suited journal. Select "Match" from your EndNote account. Learn more about  Manuscript Matcher.

Publisher Tools

Elsevier Journal Finder

  • Find Elsevier journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article

IEEE Publication Recommender

  • Search IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) periodicals and conferences, compare Impact Factor and submission-to-publication time, and get all key data about IEEE publications. You can also limit by a chosen publication date ("I need to publish before...").

Springer Journal Suggestor

  • Searches all Springer and BioMed Central journals to find most suitable journal for your manuscripts and compares relevant journals.

The journal author pages will have the most complete information regarding aims & scope and the submission process. LInks to some of the major academic publishers are listed below.

Loading

Author Rights: Regaining Control

Author Rights
Did you know that you own the copyright to any scholarly work you create unless you give that right away? As soon as your work is in a tangible form (a Word document, a web site, a recording), the copyright is yours. U.S. Copyright law gives the author of an original work, such as a scholarly article, exclusive rights.

The Exclusive Rights To:

  • Reproduce the work
  • Prepare derivative works
  • Distribute copies of the work
  • Publicly display or perform your work
  • Authorize others to do any of the above

Transferring Those Rights:

Many publishers’ contracts restrict authors' subsequent usage of their published work in their teaching and research. For example, contracts often impede placing the published work

  • on course websites
  • in a course-pack
  • in scholarly presentations
  • on the author’s personal web page
  • and in such repositories such as FAU Libraries' Digital Library

In fact, after ceding copyright to the publisher, the author generally has little say in how the work is later used. The result, all too often, is that contracts restrict the dissemination of one’s scholarship and lessen one’s impact as an author.

Accordingly, authors should take care to assign the rights to their work in a manner that permits them and their colleagues to use the work freely, both in their teaching and research at FAU. Transferring copyright doesn’t have to be all or nothing. Publishers require only the author’s permission to publish an article, not a wholesale transfer of copyright. One suggested mechanism for securing your rights is to include the SPARC Author's addendum. See other guides and sources below.

Guides & Tools