Find Articles

Locating Full-Text Articles

Select Find it @ FAU if the article you are looking for does not appear as full text in the database.

Selected Education & Special Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Education Full Text, Education Index Retrospective and additional content.
Education Source provides scholarly research and information covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides online videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Content includes demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. The collection also contains a wealth of ready-to-use teaching tools, including course, study, and discussion guides, assessment checklists, and themed playlists.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
Independent, non-profit newspaper covering K-12 education. Published 37 times a year, including three issues of annual reports.
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 This link opens in a new window
This resource indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
This link allows searching of the ERIC database covering the literature in the field of education.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. This resource includes the following: Aquinas: Collected Works; Aristotle: Complete Works; Augustine: Opera Omnia; Augustine: Works (2nd Release); Boyle: Works; Collingwood: Philosophical Texts (2nd Release); Continental Rationalists: Descartes-Spinoza-Leibniz; Darwin: Works; Descartes: Oeuvres Completes; Dewey: Collected Works; Eighteenth Century Women Playwrights; Hume: Complete Works and Correspondence; Latin Background: 1100-1550; Peirce: Collected Papers; Peirce: Published Works I; and Santayana: Works.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
An index to Dissertations and Theses in the US, with inclusion of some international words. Full text for works after 1997, with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. Use this to get references from works in your subject area, as well as read the D&T.
Ulrichsweb.com This link opens in a new window
Use this database to verify if a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed and special features of the journal. Worldwide coverage of journals.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three unique citation databases which allow searching cited references as well as traditional searches independently or in combination: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource to find published works worldwide. Use the information you find to look for items in our library catalog or order works from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) or UBorrow that our library does not have.

Selected Databases for Psychology

To access these databases, start with the FAU Libraries homepage at http://www.fau.edu/library. If you're off campus, go to our Off Campus Connect page to log in. Next, click on Indexes/Databases (on the left side of our homepage, under Quick Links). You may then find a given database alphabetically, or by subject (education or social sciences).

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to four (4) simultaneous users.
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP), a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English, is now included.
PsycArticles (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search and browse the full list of APA journals and selected EPF journals.
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO Indexes international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Also see PsycNET.

Funded by statewide allocation.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Student Tech Fee Funded (Archives Only)
Provides access to scholarly journals in the Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, and Materials Science and Engineering.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Journals

Scholarly journals have articles written by researchers who are considered experts in a field. These journals are also known as "peer-reviewed," "refereed" or "academic" journals. American School Board Journal is a scholarly journal.

Popular magazines have articles written by writers or journalists. Time and Newsweek are examples of popular journals.

Need help? Click here.

OpenAthens - authenticate yourself to use our electronic resources!

Through a statewide initiative in coordination with FALSC and other institutions of the Florida College System and State University System libraries, the FAU Libraries is transitioning e-resources authentication from EZproxy to OpenAthens.

OpenAthens is a gateway service that provides access to the FAU Libraries' licensed electronic resources. For the first time, you will have access to the Libraries’ e-resources without needing to be on the Libraries’ website! You can use an Internet search engine like Google or go directly to a publisher’s website to access the Libraries “Athenized” e-resources via FAU Single Sign-On (SSO)!

More information can be found here OpenAthens
How To Use OpenAthens
OpenAthens Video Tutorials

Last updated on Apr 18, 2024 8:49 AM - Guide Creator(s)