Skip to main content

Music Resources @ FAU Libraries: Print Music Collections

American Popular Print Music Collection

The American Popular Print Music Collection contains four collections: American Sheet Music, Dance Band Combos, Glenn Miller, and Sybil Weiner. The repertoire includes music for theater, film, operetta, choir, jazz combos, and a variety of Negro spirituals and folk songs.

Classical Print Music Collection

The Classical Print Music Collection contains three collections—the Miriam and Roman Waldman Music Collection and the Derna DePamphilis Collection—plus classical music from other sources.

Print Music Collections

The Print Music Collection at Florida Atlantic University Libraries contains more than 30,000 musical scores and documents organized in four large collections: American Popular, Classical, Jewish, and Cantors. These materials date from the 17th through 21st centuries and include rare and unique manuscripts, published scores, and sheet music. The repertoire includes scores for solo voice, choir, solo instruments, jazz combos, chamber ensembles, and orchestra.

These collections provide an invaluable resource for both scholars and performers and we continue to accept donations that enhance our holdings and preserve this rich musical heritage. Recently added to this growing collection are the personal papers and compositions of Morton Gold, the 2010 winner of the Cantors Assembly's Kavod Award for lifetime achievement.

Search Tools for the Print Music Collections

Jewish Print Music Collections

The Jewish Print Music Collection dates from circa 1897-present and includes original manuscripts from renowned, non-living Jewish composers, handwritten music from American and European-born cantors, and rare—if not sole-surviving—scores from major American Jewish publishing houses no longer in existence.

Cantors Collections

The Cantors Collections contains the archives of accomplished cantors and rabbis, and include manuscripts, published scores, synagogue and choral music and personal papers which provide historical overviews of their musical careers and intellectual creativity.