Skip to main content

E-Resources: 2016 Platform Changes

Cambridge University Press

New name: Cambridge Core
Includes: Cambridge University Press journals and ebooks
Date of release: mid-2016
Information website: http://librarians.cambridgecore.org/

Preview platform available as of 5/12/16
Follow this link to access the new preview platform
Please note, the preview platform URL is password protected. Use the below details to gain access:

Username: corepreview
Password: aprilpreview 

Preview the new organization account:
Click the blue log in button on the top right of Cambridge Core to log in to our test organisation account.

Email address: corelin@cambridge.org
Password: Password1

This account also gives you test access to content on the site. 

Key areas to explore in our improved organisation account include:

  • Content Holdings: for easy access to MARC records and KBART lists, and a summary of your online Cambridge holdings
  • Reports: view our range of COUNTER 4 compliant usage statistics

As this is a test account, you will not be able to see your own data or holdings information in this area.

 

RefWorks

 

We now have access to the new RefWorks platform.  You may create new RefWorks accounts by visiting refworks.proquest.com.  If you had an account on the old platform, you should be able to sign in using your username and password.

This will allow you and your colleagues to get acquainted with the new RefWorks platform without enabling soft-migration for all other patrons at your institution.  If you or your colleagues would like to transfer the data that is contained in your legacy RefWorks account to the new RefWorks platform visit, http://support.proquest.com/apex/homepage?id=kA140000000GwEfCAK&l=en_US.

You may also view our help site for the new RefWorks platform by visiting, http://support.proquest.com/refworks3/apex/homepage?id=kA140000000CmufCAC&l=en_US
.

  • We are planning on doing a soft migration in the fall, at which point all new users will be assigned an account on the new platfrom.
  • We are planning on doing a hard migration in January, at which point all account information for our users on the old platform will be transitioned to the new platform.
  • We will kep you posted if these dates change.  

Swank Digital Campus

Here is the new Swank Digital Campus platform:

http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://digitalcampus.swankmp.net/fau287697

  • Unlike the old platform, this version works with Google Chrome. 
  • We plan to switch over to the new platform in May, after the current semester is over.
  • There is a compatability issue with version 43 of Firefox.  Mozilla/Firefox is aware of this and there is a workaround available on their support page:

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1101900

ProQuest Ebook Central

The transition to ProQuest Ebook Central has been delayed.  We will begin transitioning in six to nine months (updated 2/11/2016).

More information is available here:

Ebook Central Support Center

SAGE Journals

2/6/2016: SAGE Publishing, one of the world’s leading independent and academic publishers, announces the selection of Atypon, the Silicon Valley-based publishing technology firm, to host all SAGE Journals content on Literatum, Atypon’s pioneering online publishing platform.

GALE

Artemis Literary Sources now available.  Allows users to cross-search the following databases:

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Literature Resource Center
  • Litfinder
  • Scribner Writer
  • Twayne's Authors
 
Artemis Primary Sources has been expanded.  It now contains the following databases: 

Docuseek2

3/7/2016 - Over the next six months, Docuseek2 will migrate to a new platform powered by Alexander Street, integrating the rich variety of tools developed by both companies. The new platform will offer users greater flexibility and improved discoverability, by allowing for The Docuseek2 Collectio to be cross-searchable with Alexander Street’s existing offerings. The new platform will also improve learners’ productivity through a common interface and include important tools for clip-making, playlists, and citations. Docuseek2 users will benefit from an enhanced set of tools including JAWS compatibility, compatibility with major discovery services, COUNTER 4-compliant usage statistics, and more.

Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to more than 800 films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films. Docuseek2 will continue to curate, expand, and publish its top quality collection of documentary films from its partner distributors, and to market and license its catalog.

Alexander Street Press Video Commons

How can you publish and share video across your institution? The Video Commons from Alexander Street is a simple, low-cost way to distribute unlimited video across campus. Digitize your lecture-capture, performances, football games, faculty experiments, and more.

PrivCo

Coming Soon

A whole new look to our website with new features for increased functionality, whether this be personalizing your PrivCo user experience via a new Dashboard, or keeping up to date with recent business news with our alerts. Here is a sneak preview...

You Can Look Forward To...

PrivCo's Annual Lists of the top private companies by region, such as the PrivCo 100, which highlights the largest private companies in the U.S. We will also be publishing reports highlighting the top private companies by region throughout the world. Check out last year's list of the largest U.S. private companies - PrivCo 100
  
 The 2016 Tech M&A Report, featuring the need to know information on the top tech M&A law firms and investment banks, and hundreds more private tech company M&A and acquirer data, rankings and PrivCo exclusive tech M&A deal details. Once this is published, I will send it out to distribute to your professors if you'd like to do so.