Skip to main content

E-Resources: 2016 Resource Changes

2016 Resource Changes

We have added notes to both the Indexes/Databases page and the LibGuides A-Z list for all databases which will be cancelled in 2016.  The changes will only be reflected on individual LibGuides if the entry uses the default description.  Changes will not be displayed for entries which use custom descriptions or use "Content Items" (links) or "Rich Text/HTML" (links) rather than linking to the database A-Z list.

FALSC Changes

The statewide collection of e-resources will be changing for 2016 (FALSC E-Resources Updates in 2016).  Attached, please see the the list of 2016 FALSC (formerly FLVC) e-resources.  The changes are listed below.

Added:

All institutions will have access to four of EBSCO’s Source products:  Applied Science and Technology Source, Art Source, Education Source, and Humanities Source.  These new Source products combine some some of our Wilson indexes (current and retrospective) with EBSCO content, see https://www.ebscohost.com/superdatabases.

Applied Science & Technology Source description – https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/applied-science-technology-source
Click HERE to download the title list.

Art Source description – https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/art-source
Click HERE to download the title list.

Education Source description  - https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/education-source
Click HERE to download the title list.

Humanities Source description – https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/humanities-source
Click HERE to download the title list.

Cancelled (as of 12/31/15):

The following EBSCO/Wilson products will be cut. We have added "see" notes where there is a subscribed collection with overlapping full-text content. This information will be added to the A-Z page entries.  Many of the databases are indexes only, and do not include any full-text content; we did not add "see" notes for these databases, and would appreciate feedback from the Reference Department to get suggested alternate sources for these databases.  We have added notes to all databases which are being removed, except the databases being replaced by EBSCO Source databases. 

  • Book Review Digest Plus

  • Biological and Agricultural Index Plus- See ProQuest SciTech Collection

  • Biography Index Past and Present

  • OmniFile Mega Full Text

    • Education Full Text- Replaced by EBSCO Source database
    • General Science Full Text-  See ProQuest SciTech Collection
    • Humanities Full Text- Replaced by EBSCO Source database
    • Readers’ Guide Full Text-  See General Reference Center Gold
    • Social Sciences Full Text- See ProQuest Social Science Journals
    • Wilson Business Full Text-  See Business Insights: Essentials 
  • OCLC Scipio

FAU Libraries will be subscribing to the following FALSC cancelled databases (from our materials budget). Last updated 12/4/15:

  • ProQuest Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

  • ProQuest Congressional

  • EBSCO/OCLC Publishing package, which includes:

    • Anthropology Plus
    • Chicano Database 
    • History of STM 
    • Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals

Ovid Medical Titles

The College of Medicine will cancel the following OVID titles for 2016:

Database

  •  Global Health

We have added a note for the cancelled database

Journals

  • American Journal of Forensic Medicine & Pathology

  • American Journal of the Medical Sciences

  • ASAIO (American Society for Internal Organs) Journal

  • Clinical Dysmorphology

  • Journal of Clinical Gastroenterology

  • Journal of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology

  • Postgraduate Obstetrics & Gynecology

  • Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia

  • Seminars in Hearing

  • Seminars in Interventional Radiology

  • Seminars in Liver Disease

  • Seminars in Plastic Surgery

  • Seminars in Reproductive Medicine

  • Seminars in Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine

  • Seminars in Thrombosis and Hemostasis

  • Shock (Studies of novel therapeutic approaches to gene therapy/nutrition)

2016 FEL Gale Holdings

Added to FEL Package:

Business Insights Essential (previously funded by FALSC)

Business Collection

Research In Context

Retired Databases:

General Business File ASAP   [now use Business Insights Essential, or Business Collection]

Junior Edition, Junior Edition K12, and Junior Reference Collection   [now use Research In Context]

Enhanced user interface, now mobile responsive:

LitFinder

Changes to Wiley journal package, license 2016-2018

**UPDATE 1/7/2016  The new Wiley titles are not yet available**We will be moving to a database model for 2016.  We will gain access to a number of new titles using this new subscription model.  The attached spreadsheet shows the titles in the database model, the titles in the custom collection (the old model) and the titles in the database model that were not included in the custom collection.

http://media.wiley.com/assets/7309/27/Database_Model_Journal_List.pdf

 

Alexander Street Press

**UPDATE** 12/21-We have decided not to cancel the AVON package.

Emerald

We will be expanding our Emerald journals package in 2016 from the EM 175 package to the Emerald Premier package.  The attached documents show the titles that will be included in the Premier package and the titles inlcuded in the Premier package that were not included in the 175 package.

Nature

**This has now been finalized** We will begin a subscription to Nature Complete starting in 2016.  This package will give us access to most titles published by Nature.  Please see the attached leaflet and title list for more information.