Skip to main content

E-Resources: Database changes FY 2012-2013

Additions

06/2013:  SPIE Digital Library (SPIE)

05/2013: American Journal of Physical Anthropology backfile (Wiley Blackwell). Single journal backfile (1918-1995).

05/2013: Arts & Sciences X Archive Collection (JSTOR). Additional content on JSTOR platform.

05/2013: Arts & Sciences XI Archive Collection (JSTOR). Additional content on JSTOR platform.

05/2013: Arts & Sciences XII Archive Collection (JSTOR). Additional content on JSTOR platform.

05/2013:  Wiley-Blackwell Journal Subject Backfiles  (Completes the Blackwell-Wiley subject collections purchased in 2007).

Business and Management
Economics, Finance and Accounting
Neurology, Neurosurgery & Pain Medicine
Neuroscience
Psychology


05/2013:
Counseling and Therapy in Video collections Vol. II
(Alexander Street Press). Additional content added to platform.

05/2013: Counseling and Therapy in Video collections Vol. III (Alexander Street Press). Additinal content added to platform.

05/2013: Digital Campus (Swank). Additional Streaming licenses.

05/2013: Ethnographic Video Online, Volume II (Alexander Street Press)

05/2013: Global Road Warrior (World Trade Press)
The Global Road Warrior database provides access to country information in various categories such as business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs.

05/2013: IBISWorld (IBISWorld)
IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. Reports consist of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more.

TBD: Mango Languages (Mango Languages).
Mango Languages
is an online self-paced language learning system covering over 40 languages and including 15 ESL classes taught in the native language.

TBD: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Archives 1-4 (LYRASIS/Gale).
An international primary source collection of 19th century materials, such as monographs, personal diaries, manuscripts, photographs, and maps. Included archives: British Politics and Society; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; CORVEY Collection of European Literature (1790-1840).

05/2013: Sage Journal Backfiles (Sage). Not yet available, anticipated start date is week of 5/20.

05/2013: Shakespeare BBC Plays (Ambrose).
Provides streaming access to the BBC complete dramatic works of William Shakespeare.

TBD: Social Sciences Scitation Index Archive, 1900-1956 (Thomson Reuters/ISI). Additional content on the Web of Science platform. Not yet available, anticipated start date is week of 5/20.

06/2013: SPIE Digital Library (SPIE). Not yet available. Start date is June 1, 2013.

01/2013: Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://si.conquestsystems.com/sa]

01/2013: Aristoteles Latinus Database [http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://apps.brepolis.net/LTool/Entrance.aspx?w=9]

07/2012: ProCon.org | Full Text

10/2012:  African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

 

Updates

07/2012: ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection | 1789-2010 | Full Text
[ Formerly LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection. ]
This resource is a growing collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of the Congress, dating from 1789. It contains comprehensive and often detailed information on an extremely wide range of subjects, and includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress.

07/2012: Engineering Village interface, updated and refreshed to improve usability, will be available on July 18th 2012 without any service disruption. On July 18th Engineering Village will switch on a new platform that has been designed to improve the user experience by making the interface more intuitive and enabling more detailed search criteria.

08/2012: IEEE announced that the first HTML-formatted documents were available in IEEE Xplore

08/14/2012: Ambrose Video:  URL updated.

09/2012:  AACR: New enhancements for the upcoming 2013 renewal season.

09/30/2012: Evidence based medicine reviews:  Vendor change effective 9/30/2012.

10/2012: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 and Supplement LCP 1670-1800 | Full Text
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans, this is the definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. The Supplement includes materials from the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Information Flyer: http://www.readex.com/readex/pdf/EAIseries1Supplement.pdf

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 and Supplement LCP 1801-1819 | Full Text
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. The Supplement includes materials from the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia.

Information Flyer: http://www.readex.com/readex/pdf/EAIseries2Supplement.pdf

Chicano Database, Now on the EBSCOhost platform.

11/2012: Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals, Now on the EBSCOhost platform.

11/26/2012: SpringerLink New platform - link will automatically redirect.

12/1/2012:  ScienceDirect: Platform improvements release is scheduled for Saturday, December 1, 2012 EST, and will extend full internet browser coverage to include Google Chrome and Safari.  During this scheduled maintenance, there may be minor disruptions to some ScienceDirect and Scopus functionality.

01/2013: Archivision Digital Library [The Archivision Digital Library will be moving to a new platform, there may be a two-week delay in access during this time (1/2/13).]  As of 2/6/2013 Archivision is now on the MDID platform and the new link is:  https://login.ezproxy.fau.edu/login?qurl=http://fau.archivision.com

01/2013: Campus Research is now WestlawNext [http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=https://1.next.westlaw.com/Search/Home.html?sp=003146244-2100&forcecdn=false]

01/2013: Anthropology Plus migrated to EBSCO [http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ant]

01/2013:
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies migrated to EBSCO [http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rsb]

Cancelled or Removed

08/2012: SHOAH Visual History Archive: Removed. See Visual History Archive Online (VHA Online) for access to 1,100 English-language testimony videos.

08/31/2012: ENGnetBASE: Cancelled effective 8/31/2012.

09/27/2012: Nature Publishing Group: As of 2013 Max Planck will not renew archival access to:  Nature protocols; Nature methods; Molecular therapy; and Gene therapy.

10/11/2012:
Wiley title cancellations: Networks, Concepts in Magnetic Resonance: Part A & Part B: Magnetic Resonance Engineering, Macromolecular Bioscience, and The Yale Review.

10/2012: CardioSource Plus has been cancelled and will expire January 29, 2013.

01/2013: Bloomberg BNA Tax and Accounting Center (formerly has been cancelled.

01/2013: Books in Print has been cancelled.

01/2013: CUMINCAD (Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design) has been cancelled.

01/2013: Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) has been cancelled.

01/2013: Index to Current Urban Documents has been cancelled.

01/2013: Marquis Who's Who has been cancelled.

02/2013: AIS Membership will expires on March 8, 2013, includes the following titles:  AIS Transactions on Human-Computer Interaction; Business & Information Systems Engineering; Communications of the Association for Information Systems; Journal of Information Technology Theory and Application (JITTA); Journal of the Association for Information Systems; Pacific Asia Journal of the Association for Information Systems; and Scandinavian Journal of Information Systems.

06/30/2013:  Index Islamicus will no longer be available as of June 30, 2013.