Skip to main content

E-Resources: December 2010 updates

Added

DynaMed  | Full Text | Vendor: EBSCOhost
Contents/Info: DynaMed is a clinical reference tool used primarily at the 'point-of-care.' It provides clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 disease and condition topics and incorporating over 800 drug topics.
 

MD Consult | Full Text | Vendor: Elsevier
Contents/Info:
MD Consult offers access to full-text articles from over 80 medical journals and Clinics, 50 leading medical references across a wide range of specialties, clinically relevant drug information, and over 10,000 patient handouts.

Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering & Computer Science | Vendor: Morgan & Claypool
Contents/Info: SYNTHESIS is an information service for engineering and computer science. The basic component of the collection is the Lecture, an electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, and is authored by a prominent contributor to the field.

Passport Reference and Markets  | Full Text | Vendor: Euromonitor
Contents/Info:
Passport Reference and Markets includes consumer market performance trends and drivers at an industry level, offering integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, and insightful comments from expert industry and country analysts. [This database replaced Global Market Information Database (GMID).]

ProQuest Newsstand | Full Text | Vendor: ProQuest
Contents/Info: Search international, national and regional newspapers including current access to the New York Times, Washington PostLos Angeles TimesWall Street Journal, Sun-Sentinel and the Palm Beach Post.
(TYPO Corrected 1/31)

Cancelled

Expiring at the end of the Month

Access World News - Expires 12/31/10. See Proquest Newspaper links above, and Proquest Newstand below.

Global Market Information Database (GMID) is now Passport Reference and Markets

LexisNexis Statistical Insight. This resource will no longer be available after 12/31/2010. See U.S. Census & Statistical Information for U.S. statistical information, or OECD iLibrary for international statistical information.

Music Index - Expires 12/31/10

Play Index - Expires 12/31/10

Short Story Index - Expires 12/31/10

See Cancelled Databases for the full list.

Updates

Communication Abstracts
New URL - http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cax
New Vendor - EBSCO

Criminal Justice Abstracts
New URL - http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cja
New Vendor - EBSCO

NewsBank
Updated Annotation:
Search across multiple publication archives: Archive of Americana, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports, America’s Historical Newspapers and Latin American Newspapers. 

Newspaper updates:

The Newsbank Access World News subscription will end on 12/31/10, all links need to be removed. We will be recieving our major local and national newspapers from ProQuest Newsstand (see entry under "Added"). The links on the database pages will be replaced with the new ProQuest platform links. If you would like to link to another newspaper on the new platform, see Journal Level Linking. Not all Newsbank newspapers will be in the new database, see title list.  Please email me with any questions, jstrudw1@fau.edu.

Title FT Coverage Vendor New ProQuest Platform URL
Chicago Tribune (LINK UPDATED 2/1)
1996 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/46852/?accountid=10902 
Florida Times-Union, The 1993 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/45108/?accountid=10902 
Miami Herald, The 1982 LexisNexis http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/lnacademic/?verb=sr&csi=247195
Orlando Sentinel, The 1985 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/45748/?accountid=10902 
Palm Beach Post, The 1996 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/45583/?accountid=10902 
St. Petersburg Times 1986 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/45749/?accountid=10902 
Sun-Sentinel (Ft. Lauderdale) 1985 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/27424/?accountid=10902 
Tampa Tribune, The 1995 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/45247/?accountid=10902 
USA Today 1997 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/15008/?accountid=10902 
Washington Post, The 1997 ProQuest http://ezproxy.fau.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/publication/10327/?accountid=10902 

 

Tallahassee Democrat -  Removed from database pages. We lost full text to this newspaper a year ago, but it is indexed in ProQuest Newsstand from 2002 to present.