Skip to main content

Government Documents at FAU Libraries: Discover Florida Documents

A guide for finding and using government resources

Finding Print Resources

The Florida Atlantic University Libraries serve as a depository for documents from the State of Florida. These materials are published by Florida governmental agencies and assigned a call number based partially on a unique two or three letter code for its point of origin.The Florida Documents print collection can be found at the S.E. Wimberly Library in Boca Raton.

The following is a guide for locating some of the most frequently used Florida Documents.

  • AGR  Agriculture & Consumer Services Department
  • AUD  Auditor General Office
  • AWI   Agency for Workforce Innovation
  • BPR  Business and Professional Regulation Department
  • CAF  Community Affairs Department
  • CFS  Department of Children and Families
  • DEP  Environmental Protection Department
  • DMS Management Services Department
  • EDU  Education Department
  • ELD  Department of Elder Affairs
  • FAU  Florida Atlantic University
  • UF    University of Florida
  • FCD  South Florida Water Management Dist.
  • FWC Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
  • GOV Governor's Office
  • HCA Agency for Health Care Administration
  • HLT  Department of Health
  • HSM Highway & Motor Vehicles Department 
  • LE    Department of Law Enforcement  
  • LEG Legislature
  • OR   Department of Corrections
  • REV Revenue Department 
  • SS   State Department
  • TR.   Transportation Department
  • VAF  Veterans Affairs Department

Florida Memory

Featuring over 167,000 digitized photographs from the State Library and Archives of Florida, the Florida Photographic Collection is the most complete online portrait of Florida available--one that draws its strength from family pictures, the homes of Floridians, their work, and their pastimes.

 

    Photo Exhibits
   
These online photo exhibits introduce some of the themes
    and collections that
make up the Florida Photographic 
    Collection.

 

 

 

    Film and Video  
    
The films and video tapes in this collection date from
    1916 to the 1980s.

 

 

 

 

Florida Memory presents a selection of historical records that illustrate significant moments in Florida history, educational resources for students of all ages and archival collections for historical research.  The Project utilizes selected original records, photographs and other materials from the collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida.  

Florida Species

How to view wildlife

Successful wildlife viewing depends on a little luck and a lot of preparation. Before leave home, improve your chances of success by considering some of these questions: What kinds of animals can I expect to see in the habitats I’ll visit? What are the best seasons or times of day to see them? Will I need binoculars, spotting scopes, field guides or other special equipment? Will my presence disturb wildlife or scare them away?

Species Profiles


 

Fresh from Florida Recipes

Honey Orange Glazed Florida Grouper

Recipe

Orange and Olive Salad

Recipe