LibGuides: Legal Resources: Articles

Accessing legal databases through the FAU Libraries offers a robust platform for conducting comprehensive research on law and legal topics. With a rich array of databases curated specifically for legal research, FAU Libraries provide students, faculty, and researchers access to authoritative sources, scholarly articles, case law, statutes, and more.

Users can delve into primary legal materials such as statutes, regulations, and court opinions, allowing in-depth analysis and interpretation of legal principles. Moreover, the databases offer access to secondary sources such as legal journals, treatises, and commentaries, providing valuable insights and scholarly perspectives on various legal issues.

One of the key advantages of using FAU Libraries' legal databases is the ability to search across multiple platforms simultaneously, saving time and ensuring comprehensive coverage of relevant materials. Additionally, users benefit from advanced search functionalities, including filters and indexing, which facilitate precise and efficient information retrieval.

Whether researching specific cases, exploring legal theories, or analyzing recent developments in the legal landscape, FAU Libraries' databases offer unparalleled resources and tools to support rigorous and insightful legal research. By leveraging these databases, researchers can enhance their understanding of complex legal issues and contribute to advancing legal scholarship.

Start your research on law and legal topics with these databases:

ABI/INFORM Collection (Global, Archive, Dateline, Trade & Industry) This link opens in a new window This resource enables one to search multiple ABI databases: ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Archive Complete, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
Country Commerce This link opens in a new window Country Commerce is a practical reference guide to the specific operating conditions, commercial laws and business regulations in more than 50 countries. It offers unbiased guidance on critical issues such as obtaining proper permits and registrations, protecting your intellectual property in the Internet age, and complying with local tax laws-including e-commerce rules.
CQ Almanac This link opens in a new window Off-campus access problems with Sage. Please follow these instructions for a temporary reroute: After clicking the link above, click “Institution” in the top, right corner of the resulting webpage. Then, click “Access via Your Institution”. Type ‘Florida Atlantic University’ and hit ‘continue’. Analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress since 1945. Data on the voting patterns of Congress members provides insight into the legislative process and history of the institution. Users can follow the history of a policy issue with the Policy Tracker tool which links reports on the same issue for almost 70 years.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window Off-campus access problems with Sage. Please follow these instructions for a temporary reroute: After clicking the link above, click “Institution” in the top, right corner of the resulting webpage. Then, click “Access via Your Institution”. Type ‘Florida Atlantic University’ and hit ‘continue’. Coverage of the U.S. Congress: including status of bills, votes and amendments, and floor and committee activity.
Florida Supreme Court Opinions This link opens in a new window Open Access Florida Supreme Court opinions.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window HeinOnline is an online research platform that provides multidisciplinary periodicals, government documents, international resources, case law, and more. With HeinOnline, users can access more than 3,200 scholarly journals, all dating back to the first issue published. In addition, there is coverage of U.S. government publications, and the archive of case law consists of federal, state, and overseas cases; international resources address many countries, regions, and international organizations.
Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window This collection, of journals, takes a broad view of this multimillion dollar industry, covering such topics as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals. Funded by statewide allocation.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window Open Access The NCJRS web site is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database This link opens in a new window This resource contains summaries of over 189,000 U.S. and international publications, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research. The NCJRS Abstracts Database excludes most legal decisions, opinions, and statutes. Unique elements of the collection include agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research. Documents are either written in English or have an English-language summary.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Accesses over a billion full-text news, magazine, legal, and business articles and reports, including newspapers, magazines, state and federal laws and regulations, case law, newsletters, and company and industry information. Funded by statewide allocation.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window Provides the tools for searching the Congressional Record, finding members of Congress, tracking proposed legislation by keyword and sponsor, and searching Congressional hearings, the Federal Register, the U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection, Congressional committee schedules, Committee Prints and Miscellaneous Publications, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports.
ProQuest Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS) which was established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.