Skip to main content

Theodore Pratt Collection: Theodore Pratt Collection

A guide to the personal papers of Theodore Pratt held at FAU Special Collections Department

Welcome!

The Special Collections Department at FAU Libraries is comprised of a variety collections, including the Arthur & Mata Jaffe Center for Book Arts, and the Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection

Use of the collections is welcomed. In order to best utilize our materials, researchers are asked to call or e-mail before they visit.

Theodore Pratt

 Theodore Pratt

(1901-1969)

Theodore Pratt Collection

   Books Movies  Movie Clips         

Theodore Pratt Collection

Florida Atlantic University Libraries is the designated repository of the personal papers and manuscript archives of Florida author Theodore Pratt. The collection includes the author's personal copies of first and foreign editions of his works, original typescripts of his fiction and screenplays, correspondence, research notes, illustrative artwork for dustcovers and paperbacks, in addition to personal mementos and photographs.

Theodore Pratt came to the state in 1934, and made it his home until his death in 1969. Fourteen of Mr. Pratt's thirty-five novels are set in Florida, including The Barefoot Mailman (1943) and The Big Bubble: A Novel of the Florida Boom (1951). These novels were thoroughly researched and scrupulously portrayed the history of Florida people, institutions and events. He also kept detailed documentation on the practical and tedious aspects of making a living as a writer. His correspondence and photographs illustrate his unique character and provides a glimpse into the old Florida lifestyle.

Theodore Pratt Collection Finding Aid

Special Collections

Open hours are from:
1:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Thursday
or by appointment

Contact:
Florida Atlantic University Libraries Special Collections
Bldg. 3 - LY 261
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431-0992
561-297-2693 or LYSCA@fau.edu