This is the "Home" page of the "Harold L. Glasser Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Harold L. Glasser Collection  

Last Updated: May 11, 2012 URL: http://libguides.fau.edu/SPC_Glasser Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

The Special Collections Department at FAU Libraries is comprised of many collections, including the Arthur & Mata Jaffe Center for Book Arts, and the Marvin & Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection.


Use of the collections is welcomed. In order to best utilize our materials, researchers are asked to call or e-mail before they visit.

 

Courage Takes Flight

 

Harold L. Glasser Collection

    Harold Glasser with sisters, Sylvia and Helen 1st Lieutenant Harold L. Glasser Harold Glasser with Miss Universe- Rina Messinger

 

Harold L. Glasser Collection


The Harold L. Glasser Collection Finding Aid

Harold L. Glasser (1918 - 2010) was accomplished in both business and law. He was a native New Yorker and received his B.A., J.D. and L.L.M. degrees from New York University, Columbia Law School, and Harvard Law School. Most notably Mr. Glasser had a distinguished military career serving overseas in World War II as a bombardier, achieving the rank of 1st Lieutenant. He was awarded 12 combat decorations including the Distinguished Flying Cross and the Air Medal with 3 Oak Leaf Clusters.

After his return from the War, Mr. Glasser served as president of the American Society of Corporate Secretaries and as General Counsel of the Kayser-Roth Corporation. A few years after graduating from New York University with his J.D., he was elected Mayor of the City of Saddle Rock, New York and eventually ran for New York State Senate. In 1959, Mr. Glasser began an exciting career as the president of the Miss Universe Pageant and by the late 1970s, he was president of the Miss USA and Miss Teen USA Pageants.

In 2010, a book honoring his accomplishments, Courage Takes Flight: The Life and Times of Harold Glasser by Dr. Patricia Kollander, was published by the American Life Publishers.

 

Special Collections

Open hours are from:
1:00 to 5:00 p.m.
Monday through Thursday
or by appointment

Contact:
Florida Atlantic University Libraries Special Collections
Bldg. 3 - LY 261
777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431-0992
561-297-3787 or LYSCA@fau.edu

Please contact us to report a broken link.
An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2009. Florida Atlantic University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip